MacBook backup to network drive? (Not Time Capsule)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Lornaevo, Jul 11, 2013.

  1. Lornaevo macrumors member

    Lornaevo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #1
    Hi. I have a MacBook Pro that I would like to perform wireless back ups of on a network drive. I'm not sure how to go about this. Would I have to get a time capsule?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    If you can connect to the network drive by afp, you should be able to use Time Machine, or Carbon Copy Cloner.
     
  3. Doward macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    #3
    Not at all!

    FreeNAS can do it, no problem!

     
  4. dazlicous macrumors 6502a

    dazlicous

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester
    #4
    Sorry for the Hi-Jack.

    I have a WD My Book Live that i use to backup my desktop and laptop Windows pc's. can I get a Mac to backup to it to, unsure because its ntfs file system on it.

    Or can I split a partition off on the NAS drive and format it into a Mac file system
     
  5. Doward macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    #5
    I think WD has Mac backup software, as well.
     
  6. jcpb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #6
    I backup my MBPR to a Synology NAS all the time.
     
  7. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    Same here.
     
  8. Lornaevo thread starter macrumors member

    Lornaevo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #8
    My drive is a WD external Hd. I am using the Asus N900 router. Would that work?
     
  9. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #9
    Just make sure to do your first TM backup via ethernet cable or it will take all week.


    ___
     
  10. Lornaevo thread starter macrumors member

    Lornaevo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #10
    So I set up the drive with Fat32 and I created and placed the sprasebundle to it. But I keep getting error 45.
     
  11. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #11
    Pretty sure TM drives need to be MacOS Extended.


    >
     
  12. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    Not necessarily - it needs a file system the can hold the metadata. My NAS is formatted with ext4 and Time Machine backs up to that fine.
     
  13. Lornaevo thread starter macrumors member

    Lornaevo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #13
    After much failure I was able to mount and use an external exfat drive to use time machine. Now I need help creating an apple script to run it at log on. Any Advice would be great.

    Thanks.
     
  14. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #14
    You mean to mount the network drive at login? Just follow this.
     
  15. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #15
    Can be done outside of script. Add the drive as one of your login items under system preferences and the OS will connect every time you log-in.



    >
     
  16. Lornaevo thread starter macrumors member

    Lornaevo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
  17. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #17
    I don't think metadata plays that much role in TM backups (if at all). But the filesystem must be capable of hard linking.
     

Share This Page