Macbook: Best RAM Brand?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RZetlin, Jul 31, 2007.

  1. RZetlin macrumors regular

    RZetlin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #1
    Which RAM Brand name should I use if I decide to upgrade my future Macbook to from 1 GB to 2GB?

    Company names like Corsair and Crucial seem to come up the most often.
     
  2. harmonica01 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #2
    I've always gone Crucial and never have I had any problems, even on an old eMac g4 haha, their prices have come down considerably over the years too
     
  3. Gymnut macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    #3
  4. Nick012 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    #4
    Don't listen to this man! he loves trash! haha
    But seriously, I got my RAM from OCZ and it worked out fine. Any of the big companies are fine (including Other World Computing)
     
  5. docc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #5
    Patriot RAM 2GB (single module) on frys.com for $99. I just ordered it yesterday and it should be here today or tomorrow.
     
  6. RZetlin thread starter macrumors regular

    RZetlin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #6
    I have seen memory companies sell two types of RAM:

    - Mac RAM
    - Normal Notebook RAM.

    When comparing the two types the Mac RAM seem to be more expensive.

    Is there any reason why Mac RAM is more expensive than normal RAM?

    Would normal typical notebook RAM work in a Macbook?
     
  7. elithrar macrumors 6502

    elithrar

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #7
    Because they're likely trying to sucker you in. All current Apple notebooks, and the current model iMac's, use DDR2-667 SO-DIMMS. Which just happen to be the same sticks used in nearly all current notebooks as well. There is no such thing as "Mac specific RAM".

    In terms of brands, any of the big brands are fine, but generic stuff is usually okay too. Corsair, Crucial, OCZ, Kingston & geil are my first picks, but in most cases you should be fine with anything.
     
  8. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
  9. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #9
  10. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #10
  11. thon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #11
    That site (OWC) lists a 3gb upgrade kit for the macbook. Does this even work? is it recognized by the hardware/OS? Should I buy one 2g module now and have 2.5g?
     
  12. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #12
    Guess I'll find out tonight. I bought 2 sticks today at lunch @$45/ea, and found out that the $20 rebate is only good for one stick, no matter how many you buy. Sneaky advertising, but not much you can do.
     
  13. aphexacid macrumors 6502a

    aphexacid

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #13
    I can say without a doubt that in my PowerBook, MAC specific memory is the on kind that worked. I learned the hard way. I still didnt buy it from apple, newegg is my friend.

    In my macbook i have GSklll. Never used them before, but it works great. no problems. I use Transcend in all my PC notebooks, i wanted to buy some for my macbook, but it was gone.

    My buddy got a macbook about the same time i did, he got Mushkin. about a month later, he found out he has bad sticks....
     
  14. Avenger23 macrumors regular

    Avenger23

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Location:
    Clovis, NM
    #14
    I bought 2 GB of Corsair memory from Newegg for $87 with shipping for my wife's MacBook. So far I haven't seen any problems with the memory. I ran the AHT just to see if any problems came up with the RAM and it found nothing.
     
  15. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #15
    While that was most definitely true for the older G3/G4/G5 systems, that no longer seems to hold true for the Intel versions. From what I have seen on here and other forums as long as you shy away from the cheap "value" lines you should be alright for MB/MBP.
     
  16. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #16
    You have to specify which MacBooks. The MacBook CoreDuo machine can only take 2 Gb total ( 2 x 1 Gb SODIMMs). The MacBook Core2Duos can take 2 Gb SODIMMs (1 x 1 Gb and 1 x 2 Gb for 3 Gb total). You can even put 2 x 2 Gb SODIMMs in one, they will be recognized, but only 3.3 Gb of the potential 4 Gb RAM will be available to the OS, because of hardware limitations of the hardware chipset in those motherboards.
     
  17. fotografica macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
  18. HexZeroRouge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #18
    newegg also offers a pair of 1gig corsair sticks for 90 dollars.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233050

    [edit] duuh, i guess thats what happens when you leave the browser window open while searching for a price on another website. the person above beat me to it. and its an even better deal.
     
  19. docc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #19
    Just got my 2Gb RAM. Installed it and its working fine so far. Installation was painless and hardly took 5 minutes. Activity monitor shows that i have a total of 2.5GB RAM with almost 1.7GB free :) Haven't noticed a very significant change in speed yet but i did notice that applications launch quicker (less number oof bounces!).

    Patriot gets my vote! $99 for a single 2GB module is just fantastic!
     
  20. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #20
    Well, I finally got around to installing the ram, and it works flawlessly! I had read how installing it could be a pain, but nothing could be easier; they just popped right in. Now I have 2GB and can finally run VMWare decently.
     
  21. Iamtherealwoody macrumors 6502

    Iamtherealwoody

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Gainesville, Florida
    #21
    So I could buy 1g and 2g and have 3g and it will work fine in a Blackbook C2D 2ghz? Just want to make sure im hearing you right
     
  22. mongoose8p macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #22
    yes tht will work fine the macbook maxes out at 3.3 so you could get 2 2gb sticks to get 3.3 if u want
     
  23. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...

Share This Page