MacBook Black Screen/Battery Not Charging

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by niiru, Jan 8, 2009.

1. niiru macrumors newbie

Hello everyone. I'm new to macs and laptops as well and I have been having a pretty annoying problem with my macbook. At random and sometimes very frequent times my macbook will just go to a black screen as I'm doing something and the white light will just stay lit, not pulsing, so I guess it's in stand by mode? It will take a few seconds for it to start pulsing again and then I will wake it up and the screen will come back on. This gets really annoying when I'm in the middle of a lecture for class and then my mac goes black on me so I was wondering what I need to do to fix this, just send it in? Also, with the macbook power adapter plugged in, it says my battery is not charging and only at 90%. I've only had the macbook for about 8 months or so which has kind of bummed me out. Any kind of help would be awesome. Thanks a lot!

2. madog macrumors 65816

madog

First thing is first, check the Energy Saver preference in your System Preferences and check the settings for Battery and (whatever the other option says for adapter/plugged in), you might have to click on the Details or Options button, I can't remember.

Does this happen while the machine is plugged in or only while on battery power? If it only happens while on battery power then there could be an issue with that, which would be good [once it is determined, then in the first year of warranty you can get your battery replaced if it's not working correctly). Do you notice any swelling of the battery?

One way to "calibrate" the battery (though this is usually only a factor when the battery won't go past 99%) is to, while only using the battery, let the machine run until it hits 0 and hibernates. After that, plug in the charger, hit any key on the keyboard and let the computer wake up, it may take a few seconds longer than normal, and let it charge up fully.