Macbook C2D New, Max 2GB or 3GB?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kikobarbada, Jul 9, 2007.

  1. kikobarbada macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    Good morning all.

    I have researched many sites and some say that my Macbook C2D (2.16 / 160HD / 2GB) have a maximum memory of 2GB and some sites that you can upgrade it to 3GB max (or more, but macbook will only read and use the 3gb). Apple's site says it is 2GB, but I have a feeling that it is just a precaution because many developer's site says 3GB. So, does anyone know for sure?

    Thanks, Z.
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    Old Core 2 Duo MBP = 3GB
    New Core 2 Duo MBP = 4GB
    Core 2 Duo MB = 2GB
    All Core Duos = 2GB.
     
  3. kikobarbada thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #3
    OK, thanks for your answer, but I might aswell wait for someone that has been able to install 3GB or someone that has tried and didn't work.
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    If you have a Core 2 Duo MacBook the official size on RAM is 2GB. I wouldn't bother upping it to 3GB.
     
  5. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #5
    however, i do vaguely remember a few posts from a while back on this forum where it was the case that the Apple-stated "maximum" amount of RAM for a particular model was not in fact the true maximum. but it's not very often that happens.
     
  6. Igantius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #6
    There are users on here that have installed 3GB and 4GB - use the search function to have a look.... there has been rather a lot of discussion here. Ars Technica had a good thread too.

    The recent tests that barefeats did on the new MBPs also included (partially) a 2.16GHz MB which had 4GB installed (listed as 3GB, as the MBs can only access 3.3GB).

    OWC also has benchmarks for MBs with various memory confighurations.
     
  7. Edandlindz28 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    Yeah one member (don't recall name) but had 3 bad macbooks, got a fourth, MB 2.16GHz and installed 4GB of ram. I don't think she reported any problems. Look for the threads it's in her signature.
     
  8. kikobarbada thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #8
    A semi-trustable site says that you can but for some reason apps like Photoshop are slower because you can't use dual-linkage in 2.5 to 3.3 gb.

    What is that?
     
  9. cleanup macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    :confused:
     
  10. Igantius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #10
    Which site is that? Can you provide benchmarks to show that?

    Generally speaking, from what I've read, if you're using a GPU-intensive app, you will see a slight performance hit when using unmatched memory; it's a CPU-intensive one (as is Photoshop), there will be a performance boost if you use more RAM, even unmatched.

    This is certainly the case in OWC's claims - its benchmarks are the ones most touted about, so I'm assuming you've already checked these out, if you're done your homework.
     
  11. kikobarbada thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #11
    1. The nano is 1st gen.

    2. I don't remember the site, but it had the specs of many macbooks and it showed numbers running on many applications but some with more than 2gb were like using 1gb because they could not use dual linkage and I have no idea what that is.
     
  12. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    The MB C2D can access 3 GB of memory, but as the memory is only running in dual-channel mode if you are using matched pairs, your memory will be slightly slower (some say about 6%, google it). Point being, if you are not doing anything that significantly benefits by going from 2 to 3 GB (like heavy PS work), don't bother.
    Also, as the MB use some of the ordinary system RAM as video RAM, you will definitely see a slowdown in video performance. Then again, if you are not running games or watching HD movies, you'll probably not notice it.
     
  13. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #13
    That would be me :) and 4 gigs runs amazing.....I do notice a big differance loading my photos and every day stuff as well I bought 2G sticks from Omni and paid 120 for both on Ebay, the run a special every few weeks
     
  14. Reaver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #14
    I am running my 2.33 MBP with 2gig of ram and I can run 3 to 4 programs at a time and still have the speed of having one app open.
     
  15. kikobarbada thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #16
    Ok, thanks I will not upgrade. I was just wanting to put the max specs on my 2.16 / 160hd 5400rpm / 2x1gb ram so that I could have it for 4 years without upgrading. So expect for the 3gb thing, it is maxed out.
     
  16. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #17
    Still would do the 4 g as it is less money :) up to you>>>>>
     
  17. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #18
    I have 3GB running in my C2D macbook. After much research, I decided that FOR MY NEEDS, the extra GB of ram was more important that running dual channel (I do a LOT of PS work).
     
  18. Edandlindz28 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #19
    Yup there you are, I knew you find the this thread. I want to go with the 4g also, waiting till I get home, and that will be about 6 months of you trying it out to see what you think then.
     

Share This Page