MacBook Calibration with Leo 10.5.2

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by michail, Mar 5, 2008.

  1. michail macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #1
    Like all of us every so often I calibrate my battery. So I work with the computer till it runs out of buttery and then I leave it for around 8 hour before I plug the charger again.

    Before I upgraded to Leo 10.5.2 when I was turning on the MacBook after calibration it was booting up again from the beginning since it had lost all info because of the complete discharged battery. However now (after upgrading to Leo 10.5.2) every time turn on the MacBook after calibration a weird loading bar is coming up and the MacBook opens with Leo in the status before calibration (like if I had put it to sleep).

    Did someone else experienced the same behavior. Thanks a lot
     
  2. bart rijksen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #2
    It is meant to do that. When you drain the battery, right before it shuts down, it stores everything in the ram to the hard drive, so when you plug it in and you start it up, it goes back to your previous state
     
  3. michail thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #3
    That is funny because before I upgrade to 10.5.2 my MacBook it was loosing all information's when I was calibrating it and it was booting up from the beginning when I was plugging it in and starting it up. Really weird.
     
  4. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #4
    Oh, did they finally add hibernation back in? Good, good. I was missing it.
     
  5. Cyroceon macrumors 6502a

    Cyroceon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #5
    Wait, so can someone explain to me, exactly how to calibrate the battery? Also, how often to do so?
     
  6. Cyroceon macrumors 6502a

    Cyroceon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #7
    So when they say turn off the computer after it goes to sleep, do they want me to hold the power button down for 5 seconds? Then, after 4-6 hours, I plug it back in and let it charge all the way? Can I use it while it is recharging all the way?
     

Share This Page