Macbook Confusion

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by macbookfan32, May 4, 2010.

1. macbookfan32 macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

I'm a Mac newbie and I'm looking to buy a Macbook, but when I checked out the buyer's guide here, it states "not to buy" because the new models are due any day now.

But on the Apple website is states that the Macbook is "new and completely redesigned".

So what gives? Should I wait or have they already been released along with the new Macbook Pros?

Thanks!

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Well Apple's website isn't going to say "Macbook: Old and due for a refresh" is it? :p

The Buyer's Guide tracks the time between updates and compares it to the average. Since the Macbook is 196 days from its last update compared to an average of 194, this means the Macbook is due to get refreshed soon.

Don't know. Do you need a computer now? Odds are the Macbook refresh won't be anything spectacular, especially given the marginal and long-overdue updates to the MBP.

3. Theappmachine macrumors member

Theappmachine

Are you talking about the white Macbook?

4. macbookfan32 thread starter macrumors newbie

Ha! I guess you're right, "old and end on the line" aren't exactly good marketing buzz words!

Yes, it's the current white Macbook on the Apple website that I'm after.

I don't need it right away, but in 1 month's time. Do you think the update will happen within that time frame?

Any speculations on what the upgrade will entail?

5. Drew n macs macrumors member

if you compare the price of the low end macbook pro to the macbook it is a lot more value for a little more money. i.e. if you buy a macbook for 999 upgrade to 4gb ram for a additional 100 bucks your only spending another 100 bucks for better battery life, supposedly better graphics card and slightly faster processor plus aluminum chassis fw and sd card reader, not really faster computer but lot more features for 100 bucks. better resale value?