Macbook connection to Samsung T260

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by slcook54, Jul 16, 2009.

1. slcook54 macrumors newbie

Hi All,

Total noob here (and I hope I'm posting this in the correct sub-forum) and I did just search, just couldn't find an exact answer.

I just purchased a Samsung T260, and hooked it up to my Macbook with the cable provided by Newegg. The monitor is calling for a resolution of 1900x1200, (I found the maximum macbook resolution is 1920x1200), but when I go to Preferences > Displays, the maximum available resolution is only 1600x1200. I searched and found that the maximum resolution for VGA on the macbook is only 1600x1200, I'm assuming this is the problem, is it likely that they included a VGA cable instead of a DVI cable and this is restricting my max resolution? (sorry at work and can't check the cable). If so, do I just need a DVI-D cable and then more resolution options will show up on the display options? Also, any links for the proper cable?

Any help would greatly be appreciated

Steve

2. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

NewMacbookPlz

For DVI, you'll need the appropriate adapter for your MacBook, either MiniDVI-->DVI-D (plastic MacBook) or MiniDisplayPort-->DVI-D (Aluminum MacBook).

You can buy a DVI-D cable at any electronic retailer, Best Buy, Fry's, Newegg, Monoprice , etc etc.

Also, I don't know if you did this intentionally, but please don't use pass-thru or click-to-pay type link-redirects in the future, it's kind of annoying :)

3. slcook54 thread starter macrumors newbie

Hey, I appreciate the quick reply and apologize for the pass thru - link (unintentional). I do have the plastic Macbook, but am also running a Bookendz Docking Station, which has a mini-DVI to full DVI port adapter built into it, so I don't think I need the mini-adapter, correct?