Macbook continuously bleeping on boot..

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by brasiliangringo, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. brasiliangringo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #1
    I have a macbook which on boot has a black screen and continual bleeping every second or so.. help please !?
     
  2. brasiliangringo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
  3. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #3
    Sounds like your computer is failing the POST (power on self test) diagnostics. I would say about 95% of the time its due to RAM. Did you install any recently, make any changes to the hardware configuration?
     
  4. brasiliangringo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #4
    Think the guy who sold it to me did a 4gb upgrade..
     
  5. jecapaga macrumors 601

    jecapaga

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    Take the RAM out and put it back in. Perhaps it's not seated properly.
     
  6. brasiliangringo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
  7. brasiliangringo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #7
    I tried reseating them but to no avail.. also noted they are made by Kingston - any good ? Guess this will also invalidate any claim under warranty..
     
  8. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #8
    You can order a new set, test them and find out that way.
     
  9. brasiliangringo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #9
    Sorry i mean i have current mac care + warranty but assume aftermarket ram will invalidate any 'free fixing' ?

    what i mean is obv they will tell me if the ram is faulty and not mac product so replacement at my expense but will they look at it still and diagnose the problem considering it has non standard hardware installed ?
     
  10. SimonJ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #10
    Also, you could try taking one out and booting up with just one of them. That way you can find out if just one of the sticks is at fault.
     
  11. brasiliangringo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #11
    tried that but left one in the top slot and didnt work - but should it have been in the bottom slot if only one 2gb stick is being used ?
     
  12. SimonJ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #12
    I'm not sure about that... I guess it can't hurt to try both slots.
     

Share This Page