Macbook Cracked Issue solved but New Issue

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by krewelement394, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. krewelement394 macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #1
    OK so i called tech support and talked to them about my cracked macbookthey helped me out but in the process they asked me for my Password on my macbook. then he told me to make a backup...

    i am worried you guys. the reason is because just like many people out there i am on of those people who got iLife09 by not paying awww!!! :( what to do?will they go through my hard drive? how can i make a backup on my external drive, so i can delete everything on my macbook then bring everything back? is that possible?MANY HELP!
     
  2. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #2
    Time Machine or Carbon Copy.

    Let this be a lesson, <$100 isn't THAT much for good software. If you want a Office-suite that's free, checkout OpenOffice or NeoOffice for MS Office like functionality.

    Beyond that, they may or may not format the drive, it depends on who knows what.
     
  3. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    Lol tell me about it..:/ i want to use time machine will that make a backup if i delete my programs etc?
     
  4. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #4
    Time machine makes a disk image of the time that it's run. You'd then use Migration Assistant to clone your Time Machine backup onto your formatted drive if they format it.

    http://www.apple.com/macosx/what-is-macosx/time-machine.html
     
  5. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #5
    so then what is the best thing to do in this situation? do they even have the right to do something like that? i do not understand why if what is brocken/cracked is the outside of the macbook not inside!
     
  6. 5DollaFootlong macrumors 6502

    5DollaFootlong

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    #6
    lol, when i sent my computer in repair, i had transmission, handbrake not to mention hundreds of torrent files in my downloads folder. i doubt they even noticed the files, but even if they did, there really isn't much they can do it.
     
  7. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #7
    Sometimes they refomat the drive. I'm not sure what the point that reformatting occurs, but it's stated when you send the computer in. They tell you to back your stuff up just in case. It may come if they need to run hardware diagnostics and you don't want them to have your password or something along those lines.

    Either way, it's a good habit to make regular backups.
     
  8. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #8
    OHHhhh :] i am feeling much better now :D but still kind of worried!:( i have tons of photos and stuff pluss i also have photoshop cs in there cracked :p i forgot to state that one..:/ anyhow i am thinking of changing my password now so they won't have it :D good idea or bad?
     
  9. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #9
    Seriously.

    Run time machine. If they reformat you, just run it when you get it back and your system will be just as it is.

    If you change your password, they will definitely reformat your drive I'd wager to run the admin/test tools.
     
  10. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #10
    so if i make a time machine thing, and they format my macbook when i get it back and pick up the date i made a time machine day will my programs, photos, music and everything else still be there????

    how sure of it is it?

    as of right now it is hard for me to make a time machine backup since the external drive is in FAT32 and the time machine will not work on that format... i have 30 + GB worth of stuff so i have to move all of that onto my mac. then format it to the right format then move all the stuff once again. i do not want to go through the trouble of all that and then find out it will not work.... can you try it? :p lol please.... try uninstalling a program not really needed and that is free then making a backup and see if you get it back working just like it last did :]


    by the way if apple were to go through my stuff and find that the programs are there illegally (Cracked/ Key Generated) what is the worst that would happen? will they just format my comp. or will they press charges AGHHHHH :(
     
  11. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #11
    Dude.

    Seriously. I've said it 3 times in this thread already.

    Time Machine= Backup of your entire computer, EVERYTHING as of the time of the backup. Really, it does everything; that's what it was designed to do and you'll see that if you read the link I gave you. I'm not Time Machine restoring anything on my computer now, as I have no need. If you don't believe me/trust Time Machine then too bad, if you get reformatted you'll deal with it.

    It seems like you're really over thinking this and making it 100x harder than it needs to be.
     
  12. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #12
    Sorry :p i did not even see the link! just read it and now i am backing up my files! :] i just hope they do not reformat a thing! :] im still going to change my password though... so if they do format it then i have a backup either way :D...by the way just asking and making sure about this because i have never used time machine and i thoguht it was going to be somewhat like the windows version which is not good! :[
     
  13. pellets007 macrumors 6502a

    pellets007

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    1. They need to have an open account or have access to password information.

    2. To put bluntly, you could have your entire hard drive (-3GB) filled with porn and they wouldn't care or do anything.
     
  14. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #14
    Im sure there are privacy laws to cover your butt. Apple has much more to lose than to gain from going through your files.
     
  15. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #15
    yeah i spoke with an agent today and asked them why they needed my info. he said it was just to make sure the macbook turned on after they fixed it! :] im feeling better. by the way i made a system backup using time machine... is there any way i can restore my whole macbook and not just one file?
     
  16. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #16
    Time Machine restores the whole thing.
     
  17. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #17
    How? when i click on time machine> Enter time machine> then click on yesterday's backup time the restore button is unclick able unles i click and highlight a file or document, then the restore button turns white and i can click. i have never really used time machine but so far it is confusing. i saw a tutorial on youtube but it just showed how to get a file back if accidently lost/deleted. i tried it with a program i uninstalled and it works but i have to restore multiple files manually....:(
     
  18. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #18
    Try this. Open Finder, then click on Macintosh HD in the left sidebar. THEN open run Time Machine and see if it will let you backup without selecting files/folders.
     
  19. rajagiri5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #19
    Time machine makes a disk image of the time that it's run.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #20
    Nope, did not work the Restore setting doesnt appear..:/ but when i click on my mac's name it appears... there is 1 folder there called "Macintosh HD" im not sure if that will work.....
     
  21. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #21
    Macintosh HD is the name of your hard drive. The backup is called
    Macintosh HD.

    Backup=image of your hard drive. You should be able to navigate around that Macintosh HD image and it will look exactly like your actual hard drive since it's an image.
     
  22. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #22
    ok just to make sure.... i go to (my computer's name is Apple(an example)) Apple on the finder screen> then Mac Hd> restore

    is that how it works?
     
  23. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #23
  24. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #24
    I tried restoring a whole computer a couple of days ago actually... turns out it's trickier than you'd think. I believe we tried restoring the whole of the Macintosh HD and it didn't work... which is understandable since it needs some things inside the drive to run Time Machine so it can't paste over it whilst it's using it. Also you can't restore things like Applications or Library, you have to go inside and select everything to do it. It says something along the lines of 'This can't be done since OS X is using this folder' or something. Basically it needs those folders to exist, even if empty, so just do it from the inside instead.
     

Share This Page