Macbook Crash - Horizontal Lines

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nopw, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. nopw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Hi all.
    I was just browsing though the web and suddenly my mac "stopped responding" and displayed strange horizontal lines / blocks.
    I had 1 flash stream active and 4 website tabs open.

    Is there something i should worry about?
    What causes that?

    System is a Macbook Pro 15" Mid 2012 + 16GB Mem
     

    Attached Files:

    • macc.jpg
      macc.jpg
      File size:
      35.5 KB
      Views:
      605
  2. mohsy90 macrumors 65816

    mohsy90

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Try a PRAM and SMC reset. If that doesnt work, it could be a bad graphics card or logic board.
     
  3. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #3
    Probably OK. Did you have to hard shut it off, or did it unlock?

    If it's a recurring theme, by all means, talk to Apple.
     
  4. nopw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    Hi.
    I couldnt do a thing. i tried to open expose or anything that would normally change the whole screen appearance, but nothing happened.

    I have a non stock memory inside: corsair vengeance.
    Could this be a reason?

    This is the first time this happened (mac is just 7 days old).
     
  5. mohsy90 macrumors 65816

    mohsy90

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Looks like that could be the reason, seeing as thats the only thing you've changed on the computer since the purchase. Replace the OEM ram and see if issue persists.
     
  6. nopw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Hi i booted up in Single User Mode and did a:
    "memtest all"
    It was completed in 3730 seconds?!
    Without any errors.

    From what i read so far, a complete memtest takes up to 12 hours.

    did i use the wrong command?

    thanks for the replies so far!
     
  7. nopw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    Thank you for all responses.

    I got into contact with the Apple Support and they let me do some bootup commands i have not heard of so far.
    I have not had this problem again.

    If there is any further development in this case ill revive this thread to keep the community informed :).
     

Share This Page