Macbook Crashing!!!!???

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by csjxx, Nov 5, 2009.

  1. csjxx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #1
    Yesturday i upgraded the RAM in my Macbook to 4gb. No if there is a small vibration or movement it crashes and i need to reboot.

    Error Code:

    Interval Since Last Panic Report: 952648 sec
    Panics Since Last Report: 3
    Anonymous UUID: D9C5AB34-7CF6-4BBC-A011-40B9B6A97D52

    Thu Nov 5 20:10:46 2009
    Panic(CPU 1): Unresponsive processor
    EAX: 0x00850000, EBX: 0xb2f526ee, ECX: 0x00000014, EDX: 0x4b331484
    CR2: 0x13a74000, EBP: 0x58563eb8, ESI: 0x4b331480, EDI: 0x000003ae
    EFL: 0x00000002, EIP: 0x00295cd6, CS: 0x00000008, DS: 0x00000010
    Backtrace (CPU 1), Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack)
    0x52518f58 : 0x2ad558 (0x58563df0 0x0 0x0 0x1050002)
    0x52518f88 : 0x2a6043 (0x2 0x58563df0 0xba 0x1)
    0x52518fd8 : 0x29cb1e (0x58563df0 0x0 0x0 0x0)
    0x58563eb8 : 0x225f21 (0xb331480 0x86eb11c 0x0 0x546c0e)
    0x58563ee8 : 0x546c74 (0x86eb11c 0x1 0x0 0x22699d)
    0x58563f08 : 0xc68b25 (0x86eb100 0x0 0x0 0x0)
    0x58563f28 : 0x54b042 (0x86eed40 0x86eb540 0x0 0x4b331ae4)
    0x58563f78 : 0x22f3e5 (0x86eb540 0x8839048 0x58563fc8 0x547576)
    0x58563fc8 : 0x29c68c (0x863ec0 0x0 0x10 0x847b604)
    Kernel Extensions in backtrace (with dependencies):
    com.apple.GeForce(6.0.2)@0xc03000->0xca9fff
    dependency: com.apple.NVDAResman(6.0.2)@0x96f000
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport(2.0)@0x961000
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(2.6)@0x932000
    dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily(2.0)@0x943000

    BSD process name corresponding to current thread: kernel_task

    Mac OS version:
    10B504

    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel Version 10.0.0: Fri Jul 31 22:47:34 PDT 2009; root:xnu-1456.1.25~1/RELEASE_I386
    System model name: MacBook5,2 (Mac-F22788AA)

    System uptime in nanoseconds: 40219405331
    unloaded kexts:
    (none)
    loaded kexts:
    com.apple.driver.AppleHWSensor 1.9.2d0 - last loaded 31249722765
    com.apple.driver.InternalModemSupport 2.6.0
    com.apple.filesystems.autofs 2.1.0
    com.apple.driver.AppleTyMCEDriver 1.0.1d8
    com.apple.driver.AGPM 100.8.15
    com.apple.driver.AppleHDA 1.7.4a1
    com.apple.driver.SMCMotionSensor 3.0.0d4
    com.apple.driver.AppleIRController 161
    com.apple.Dont_Steal_Mac_OS_X 7.0.0
    com.apple.driver.AudioIPCDriver 1.1.0
    com.apple.driver.NVSMU 1.1.7
    com.apple.driver.AppleIntelYonahProfile 14
    com.apple.driver.AppleIntelPenrynProfile 17
    com.apple.driver.AppleIntelNehalemProfile 11
    com.apple.driver.AppleIntelMeromProfile 19
    com.apple.driver.ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlu`n 3.4.0 0
    com.apple.driver.AppleLPModel: MacBook5,2, BootROM MB52.0088.B00, 2 processors, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 GHz, 4 GB, SMC 1.38f5
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, PCI, 256 MB
    Memory Module: global_name
    AirPort: spairport_wireless_card_type_airport_extreme (0x14E4, 0x8E), Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.10.91.19)
    Bluetooth: Version 2.2.1f7, 2 service, 0 devices, 1 incoming serial ports
    Network Service: AirPort, AirPort, en1
    Serial ATA Device: Hitachi HTS543212L9SA02, 111.79 GB
    Serial ATA Device: MATSHITADVD-R UJ867A
    USB Device: Built-in iSight, 0x05ac (Apple Inc.), 0x8501, 0x24400000
    USB Device: Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad, 0x05ac (Apple Inc.), 0x022a, 0x04600000
    USB Device: IR Receiver, 0x05ac (Apple Inc.), 0x8242, 0x04500000
    USB Device: BRCM2046 Hub, 0x0a5c (Broadcom Corp.), 0x4500, 0x06100000
    USB Device: Bluetooth USB Host Controller, 0x05ac (Apple Inc.), 0x8215, 0x06110000

    Does anyone know what this means?

    Thanks!?
     
  2. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #2
    Try the old RAM again. See what happens.
     
  3. csjxx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #3
    Replaced the RAM with the old 2x1gb and no problems.

    Does this mean my new RAM is faulty?
     
  4. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #4
    Faulty or the wrong type. What kind of RAM is it?

    You should always test it with memtest after an upgrade.
     
  5. csjxx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #5
    how do i preform a memory test?

    Its crucial memory.
    2gb, 200pin, 256mx64, pc2-5300
     
  6. eman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    In the great white north
    #6
    Can you post a link to where and what memory you purchased? Also, which macbook do you have?
     
  7. eman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    In the great white north
    #8
    If you have the white or black macbook 1.83, 2.0 and 2.16GHz C2D and CD macbook, then this looks to be the correct memory. The core duo macbooks could only be upgraded to 2Gb ram. The core 2 duo macbook could be upgraded to 4Gb ram and only 3Gb ram was usable.
    I haven't had any issues using third party memory in any of these macbooks. Use/install one stick at a time and run the macbook and see if you can isolate which stick may be bad. Some of the
     
  8. csjxx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #9
    I have a new white macbook core due 2, about 6 months before the uni body was released.

    It is capable of being up graded to 4gb ram. I tried doing one at a time and both caused it to crash!

    I have now posted the RAM back to crucial. Do you think it was a faulty batch or something with my Macbook that is causing this?
     
  9. eman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    In the great white north
    #10
    When you have your ram back in, go to the Apple logo/about this mac/more info and look on the left hand side for memory. Click on memory and look on the right hand side and it will tell what speed your memory is. I'm guessing you aren't using 667MHz ram. What is your ram speed?
     
  10. csjxx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #11
    Ive checked now the original RAM is back in and its running at 667MHz, when i receive my new replacement i will see what happens. If the problem reoccurs i guess i will have to keep 2gb of RAM :(
     
  11. csjxx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #12
    Hey, just thought i would update what is happening. I returned the RAM to crucial and within a few days I have received new parts back.

    Installed this morning and ran a few tests, e.g. maxed the ram out a few times. Have been running for a few hours now without any problems, not like before.

    I also installed a new hard drive yesterday "Western Digital 500gig".

    Im guessing the problem must of been a faulty stick of RAM.

    No problems! Fingers crossed :D:D:D:D
     
  12. eman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    In the great white north

Share This Page