MacBook + CS3? Ext. Monitor? Your experiences?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by munckee, May 16, 2007.

  1. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #1
    Ok, I know this has been beaten to death in the form of "what should I buy" or "MB vs MBP" threads, but I have a couple of specific questions about the macbook while trying to decide between that and the pro. Let me preface: if I decide on a MBP, I WILL WAIT until WWDC. If I go with a MacBook, it will have the faster processor and at least 2GB of ram.

    My (working) time is spent 85% on creative suite with the other 15% on dreamweaver, flash, and exploring new programs. Up until a couple of weeks ago I was running a 1.5Ghz Powerbook with 2GB of ram. It was starting to feel slow, but my intention was to get to the end of the year before buying a new machine. Unfortunately, a cup of coffee (not my fault) put a decisive end to that plan, and I'm now in the position of needing a new computer ASAP.

    I'm an avid reader here, and I've looked at most of the MB vs. MBP threads, etc. However, I'm still confused on specifically how much difference I'll see between the two machines for running CS3. For some reason I can't seem to understand exactly what difference the integrated graphics will me FOR ME. I can make a decision about case design, display size, etc on my own.

    So...
    -What are you experiences running CS3 on a MacBook?
    -Can you run multiple programs (Ps, In Design, Illustrator, suitcase, safari/firefox) at once, or does it bog down?
    -Do you notice (or can I expect to notice) much difference between 2 and 3 GB of ram for my uses?
    -If I were to partition 20-30GB of my HD specifically as a scratch disc for CS to use, will that make a difference?
    -Does using an external monitor (in addition to CS) have the potential to slow me down? (Does an external make use of the graphics card?) I usually have my computer hooked up to a 23" ACD.

    I have the money for a MBP, and I'm willing to spend it IF I need to. But if a MacBook will work for me, I'd rather put the cash away for next time or for a rainy day.
     
  2. munckee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #2
    :( No one is running CS3 on a macbook? Maybe that's the answer to my question I guess.
     
  3. imMAColata macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    #3
    If you use CS3 for a 23" I think the Macbook is too anemic for you. Wait for the mbp udpates in june and get one of those. I think the MB runs Photoshop allright, but theres low memory allocated for the slow video subsystem. Methinks its going to run, but probably not fast.
     
  4. munckee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #4
    See, this is exactly why I'm confused. If CS isn't using the video "card", and the macbook will run a 23" fine without taking CS into consideration, then why does running both (CS and the 23" display) make a difference?

    Not to mention...
    This post:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=3449956&postcount=2

    is completely contradicted by this one:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=3461731&postcount=9
     
  5. MeatPopSci macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #5
    you're the best judge of your needs. goto an :apple: store and have a sales rep hook up an external monitor to a macbook, load CS3 and see if you like it. :cool:
     
  6. munckee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #6
    Yes, that's something that I may do. However, that requires time away from work and a lot of hassle for some apple employee. Since most people who post on the forum are willing to answer some questions, etc, I figured in the meantime I'd try to get a better understanding of the differences here. :cool:
     
  7. Stratification macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #7
    I can't say much for the external monitor (still saving for that), but CS3 runs like a champ on my Macbook (White, 2.0 Ghz, 1 GB Memory). I've run Illustrator, Photoshop, and Dreamweaver together with no problems. Admittedly most of the work I've done so far in Photoshop has been for web graphics so the resolution is not huge, but I've been very happy. As you say, I can't see any reason that an external monitor would cause problems, this isn't really going to stress the video card since there's no 3D involved. I don't see any reason you shouldn't run CS3 on a Macbook, despite the prevailing comments here.
     
  8. thenick512 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    #8
    I am glad that someone is thinking along the same lines as me. With my powerbook just being sold and not wanting to pick up a mbp, I was really wondering how dreamweaver is going to be running. I don't use illustrator so much but I use dreamweaver alot and photoshop cs2. Unfortunately I can't afford cs3 yet. Will dreamweaver MX still run well with a new blackbook? anyone have any ideas?
     
  9. munckee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #9
    The big difference between CS2 and CS3 is that 3 runs universally instead of through Rosetta. My understanding is that this makes a HUGE difference. I purposely held off on any upgrade (not that I wanted to upgrade now) until CS3 came out.
     
  10. Stratification macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #10
    @thenick512: Universal binary is going to make a huge difference. Keep in mind that if you've got a version of Creative Studio, or of a Macromedia Studio, upgrading to CS3 Web Standard would only be $399. Not inexpensive, but certainly more than reasonable (in my opinion).
     
  11. RaMaz macrumors regular

    RaMaz

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #11
    i run CS3 on My BlackBook, and some times hook it up to a 17"

    Runs Great! :D
     
  12. moonzilla macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #12
    i cant help with your problem specifically, but keep in mind that the macbook maxes out at 2gbs of RAM, while the mbp can handle 3gbs. for someone with your needs, you might find yourself wanting the extra RAM before long.

    what i can tell you is that i run my mbp (2.33ghz 2gb core2) with a 24" external dell lcd, and performance is good. i do notice some slowdowns at times, and can only GUESS the macbook would be worse.
     
  13. munckee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #13
  14. Hendilemos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #14
    macbook with CS3

    I've been using CS3 for about 2 weeks on my white macbook (2ghz, 1gb RAM). I use InDesign all the time alongside with Illustrator and/or Photoshop. Everything runs fine, but you can notice some slowdowns, maybe cause I use all the animation gimmicks turned on (dashboard, magnification dock). Sometimes I avoid running Firefox together, I use Safari in this moments... I cannot resist using several programas at the same time, I'm always with Transmission, Adium, Skype, iTunes running while I work.

    I've already plugged 17" monitors to my macbook and yes, it slows down, but I didn't tried CS3 with the external monitor.

    I think it depends on the size of the files you're working with - remember the macbook expands only to 2 gb of RAM.

    I love my macbook even when it runs slow ... I'm sure if I have spent the extra money for a Pro, I would be looking for little slowdowns and freaking out how my 2000 bucks are not the fastest computer on earth !

    Buy a macbook and leave the rest of your money for something more important. Computers are not perfect !
     
  15. moonzilla macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #15
    interesting read...

    i wonder if that'll void your warranty though considering apple seems to make it a point to mention ram pairing. dont know though...
     
  16. munckee thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #16
    I doubt it would void your warranty. Apple has been pretty good in the past about allowing more ram than is officially supported. Or you could replace the aftermarket ram for the original in the event of an apple store visit.
     

Share This Page