Macbook Data Transfer?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bmastudent, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. bmastudent macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    #1
    Hi. I just bought a MBP from blackfriday...couldn't resist the price. I currently own a macbook late 2007. Is there a way to transfer my profile from the old macbook to the new macbook? Specifically, I would like my documents, itunes/iphoto libraries, and keychain access. I heard it might be possible to do it laptop to laptop through the a firewire cable? Would the genius bar do it for me? Much thanks.
     
  2. Shadow%20Mac macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    There are two ways to do this.

    1.) Put the old MacBook in TDM (Target Disk Mode), and extract your files via FireWire.

    2.) Use the Apple Migration Assistant, and extract your files via FireWire.

    3.) Go to the Genius Bar, and they will do either option 1 or 2.

    Either way, you need a FireWire cable.

    If you want specific instruction for step 1, let me know.
     
  3. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Here and here.

    You don't need a firewire cable. You can use an ethernet cable.
     
  4. Mew2468 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the 2010 Winter Games
    #4
    Yup, you can take the old and new computers to a Genius bar and they'll transfer the data. Or, you could just do it yourself with a FireWire/Ethernet cable, like the 2 posters above said.

    Enjoy your new MacBook Pro :D.
     
  5. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  6. bmastudent thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    #6
    Thanks for your replies :)

    Is this ok going from leopard to snow leopard? And...how do I manually get the keychain over?
     
  7. bmastudent thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    #7
    One thing that has been bugging me about the new laptop, don't know if anybody else experiences this.

    My notebook is pretty much stuck on multitouch show desktop. Basically, whenever I hit the expose button, it goes into expose then it switches to the show desktop view (same as 4 finger swipe up). It also goes back to show desktop when I try to 4 finger swipe down. Anybody else have this erratic problem?
     
  8. ttran88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #8
    I used SuperDuper to create a full carbon copy when I got a new hard drive.. All files, settings were transferred. I didnt even need to reinstall the OS
     

Share This Page