MacBook dilemma

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by The Hat, Feb 20, 2012.

1. The Hat macrumors newbie

So, here's the thing. I'm a student and I used hp laptop for all of my work. Unfortunately for me, the motherboard died and I ended up with using an old powerbook with os x leopard which I really like to work on. But I'm afraid I need something newer because of the advantages of os x lion and icloud, and basically having a machine which is up to date in software sense. Since I'm pretty low on budget these days (bought a new car, paying rent and so on) and I got around $600 to spend. So, after doing some research on the Internet I ended up with having a little problem with choosing what to buy. White MacBook C2D 2.0 gHZ , MacBook air 2009 1.86 geforce 9400m or pre-unibody MacBook pro 15''. I'm not going to use it for any "hard work", just for surfing the web, writing papers, just sometimes for playing some older games such as gta San Andreas or call of duty 2.

I would appreciate any kind of help and sorry for my bad english .

2. vincent.m macrumors member

You could use any of those, but you will soon face the same problems you currently have. If I were you, I would save up a bit more and wait for a new model of something to be released. Apple stores often (but not always) have end of life (EOL) sales for the equipment that is being updated until they are out of stock. If you wait for that, you can probably get a model that is much more current for just a little more than you currently have to spend. (plus having a warranty is always a nice thing)

On another note, none of those macs you mentioned are worth that much.

3. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

4. luke.mac1 macrumors member

I think you'll struggle to play san andreas on any of those machines tbh...

5. thunderboltspro macrumors regular