MacBook disk corrupt for no reason. GCSE's at stake PLEASE HELP!! :D

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by alex.m90, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. alex.m90 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Leicestershire UK / San Francisco USA
    #1
    I was using my MacBook (Late 08' Unibody Backlit) listening to a bit of Spotify ect. Shut it down normally.

    When I booted later on I turned it on and a progress bar comes up goes not very far across at all and starts again. Get's to roughly the same point only to shut down. This has happened consistently.

    Windows 7 still works though so that rules out a complete Hard Disk failure. I have tried booting from SL DVD and repairing permissions and the disk only to be presented with an error message telling me to backup as many files as I can and restore. :mad: (If I new how to backup these files I most certainly would). After this I tried to install SL again (I understand the default is an archive and install) and before it even starts it tells me that it cannot be installed on this disk.

    The reason I am desperate to get this sorted is I have many many hours worth of coursework on there that I have done while at my dads and hasn't been backed up onto the Time Capsule.. If their is ANY way of accessing the files via Windows or from another computer then info would be MUCH appreciated. Thanks

    Alex :eek:
     
  2. Meta* macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    #2
    Target disk

    Got another Mac handy? If so, connect the two via Firewire. Make sure the working mac is on, then boot the one you're having trouble with whilst holding down it's 't' key. This will put that mac into 'target disk' mode and your faulty drive should (theorectically) appear as a connected drive in the other's Finder.

    I can't promise that will work, but it's worth a go as it will let you access and transfer any files on the faulty drive.
     
  3. alex.m90 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Leicestershire UK / San Francisco USA
    #3
    Unfortunately this MacBook doesn't have firewire, my iMac does though. HOW FRUSTRATING :O Thanks though :)
     
  4. Meta* macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    #4
    Bah! Typical!

    I think there's some way of mounting a drive connected via ethernet, too, but I can't remember how. Anyone else care to pitch in?
     
  5. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #5
    Boot off of an ubuntu CD, then copy the files from your HD (if you can get them) to your USB drive.
     
  6. alex.m90 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Leicestershire UK / San Francisco USA
    #6
    I know, unbelievable. I will try Googling that now. :)

    Alex

    DOES THIS WORK :O How? I might go round my Dads and get the disk.. is it as easy as just booting an install disk? Thanks.
     
  7. jigizen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #7
    RE: Macbook Disk corrupt

    You have 2 options
    1) buy a firewire 400 to 800 converter to connect the 2 computers ( get it at bestbuy)
    2) Or remove the drive from the laptop and put it in an external enclosure.
    The first one is definitely a cheaper and less stressful option
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    His MB doesn't have FW. I knew this would come back to bite people in the butt sooner or later.
     
  9. Meta* macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    #9
    Aye, that was a silly mistake for Apple to make, although it was soon rectified.

    I reckon that the only option you're left with is removing the drive from your Macbook, putting it in an external enclosure, and connecting it to your iMac. Not free if you don't already have an external enclosure, but no doubt more worthwhile than re-writing all of your coursework! And you can probably get your folks to pony up for an enclosure if you explain it's an important part of your education ;)
     
  10. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #10
    Boot into the 'try ubuntu from cd' bit and it will boot straight off the CD - it has saved me and my mum a couple of times :)
     
  11. alex.m90 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Leicestershire UK / San Francisco USA
    #11
    :)


    I am currently using my Dads copy of Ubuntu 9.04 and it can see the files down to my documents folder, however I cannot copy because from there it doesn't have permission so any advice would be appreciated :)

    Thanks :) I will probably put an external HD on my Christmas List ;) if Ubuntu doesn't work correctly..
     
  12. model citizen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #12
    It's been a long time since I used Ubuntu but maybe you could try opening the terminal and type in 'sudo nautilus' (w/o quotes) and it should open the file manager in root mode. I think?

    Always be careful while running sudo commands, you can really mess things up.

    Maybe someone with more terminal knowledge can jump in...
     
  13. fluffyx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #13
    I might bring your computer to a professional and ask them to help you copy your files off of it. It'd be nasty to make a mistake in Linux and end up exacerbating the problem.

    The Genius Bar at Apple Stores will sometimes do this if you beg, and the price for the service can cost up to $150, but may be free if you're lucky and ask nicely :rolleyes: . Are your GCSEs worth $150?
     
  14. alex.m90 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Leicestershire UK / San Francisco USA
    #14
    OMG IT WORKED. Thankyou so much everyone for your help + input. Now to find somewhere big enough to back it all up..
     

Share This Page