macbook do 1080p video?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by yien, Jul 18, 2008.

  1. yien macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #1
    So i plan to use a current gen blackbook to occasionally play hd movies while its connected to a 1080p hdtv. I was wondering if the x3100 is good enough for handling 1080p video?
     
  2. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    I do not believe so. Intel claims the x4500HD will be able to do it, however.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    No, the X3100 does not decode anything, so the GPU has to do the work, and unfortunately, the CPU is not fast enough; I mean sure it can do a few movies in 1080p, but some movies with a lot fast action like Transformers, it won't be able to keep up.
     
  4. jwt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #4
    I've played 1080p content on a Mac Mini--I don't know why the MacBook would give you trouble. The CPU does all the work, but it's no sweat for the Intel C2D. You'll see something like 10-20% CPU utilization. Try it out at an Apple Store. They have 1080p content on their machines, and they're all connected to the internet if you want to find more.
     
  5. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #5
    1080p trailers and such from apple.com work fine on my MacBook (2.4GHz, 4GB RAM).
     
  6. Jak3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #6
    Call me an idiot...but it can power the ACD 22" which has a res of 1200p, but it can't do 1080p:confused:
     
  7. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #7
    You're an idiot.

    Sorry but you did ask me to do that.

    It can do 1080p video just fine.
     
  8. Jak3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #8
    Which means I'm not an idiot!:D
     
  9. Tomass04 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    call me an idiot but how would you go about doing this?
     
  10. fedup flyer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #10
    Yes a Macbook will do 1080p. I hook my Macbook up to my 40' Samsung via the PC VGA port and use Front Row and it works just fine. Be aware that all VGA cables are not created equal though. I noticed that most VGA cable are missing a couple of pins and will not allow a HD monitor to achieve full screen resoultion or let the Macbook auto detect the "large screen" that it is connected to. So make sure you check close and have all 16 pins instead of 14 pins.
     
  11. iSpoody 1243 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    lololol it will play the movies fine
    it just does not have the power to play bluray/ hd dvd movies which doesn't matter cause the biatch doesn't even have a hd drive
     
  12. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain

Share This Page