MacBook doesn't load websites

Discussion in 'macOS' started by OkComp82, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. OkComp82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #1
    For the last month I have not being able to load NinjaVideo.net from either Firefox 3 or Safari. It used to work perfectly from my Macbook, but out of the blue it stopped loading.

    I tried updating flash player and still it does not open. I also tried deleting all cookies, and cache.

    This is the error message it appears on firefox:

    Network Timeout

    The server at NinjaVideo.net is taking too long to respond.

    The requested site did not respond to a connection request and the browser has stopped waiting for a reply.

    * Could the server be experiencing high demand or a temporary outage? Try again later.
    * Are you unable to browse other sites? Check the computer's network connection.
    * Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.
    * Still having trouble? Consult your network administrator or Internet provider for assistance.
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    So what exactly are you asking? It seems you answered your own questions... :confused: anyways do you have any ad-filtering plugins installed?
     
  3. OkComp82 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #3
    I am trying to access that website again, but I don't know how.

    I don't have any pop-up blockers installed.

    I tried loading that website from my brother's Macbook pro and it also didn't load.

    Any suggestions?
     
  4. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #4
    I just tested it and it loaded perfectly so it is not the website. It probably has something to do with your internet provider. Was your brother using your internet connection?
     
  5. OkComp82 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #5
    Yes we are both sharing the same connection. We are behind a Linksys WRT54G using a PPPoE connection.
     
  6. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #6
    It loads for me, but I notice the page has a ton of image elements. This can cause your web browser to open many TCP connections, and if your Linksys router is buggy or crappy, it will choke. Check for a firmware update on the Linksys.

    If you use Firefox, you can go the address about:config and make the following changes that should let you load problematic pages:

    network.http.max-connections set to 8
    network.http.max-connections-per-server set to 3
    network.http.pipelining set to true
     

Share This Page