Macbook doesn't recognize website

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dedalus, Dec 2, 2008.

  1. dedalus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #1
    hi there i'm having a really strange issue. a website i usually browse went down for a day or so, now it's back up and working normally. my macbook keeps on not recognizing it and gives me a blank safari page. if i try it on my mbpro in the house there are no problems. could you please help me out?

    manuel
     
  2. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #2
    Have you tried Emptying the cache?
    Safari > Empty Cache
     
  3. dedalus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #3
    yes i have. nothing changes. it says that he can't find the server
     
  4. G-Com macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Location:
    North of The 'Nati
    #4
    Have you tried repairing permissions?
     
  5. ZiggyPastorius macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
    #5
    I have a question that is off topic, but is sincere, and I might as well ask now...

    When people recommend repairing permissions for all these issues, is there a reason for it, or is that just one of the generic responses to a problem? I see there for almost every problem, and I'd like to know if it does something (and what that may be) that causes one to think it may solve an issue like not being able to see a website. Not trying to be sarcastic, I just don't get it.
     
  6. dedalus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #6
    no i haven't how do I do that?
     
  7. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #7
    No, it's voodoo ... you may as well just wave a dead chicken over your Mac. I don't believe I've repaired permissions since the first month or two I owned my first Mac, when I realized what a load of crock it was.
     
  8. rpaloalto macrumors 6502a

    rpaloalto

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Palo Alto CA.
  9. rpaloalto macrumors 6502a

    rpaloalto

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Palo Alto CA.
    #9
    Well their is not much you can do. Other than repair permissions and maybe delete a preference folder. Usually thats enough.

    Example for why repairing permissions for the OP might help,
    Maybe the installed flash plugin. Wont allow safari, and the specific user to access it. Because it does not recognize the permissions. That safari is currently using.
    I have know idea what I'm talking about:D
     
  10. dedalus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #10
    thanks....

    anyone else care to help? there's only ONE website that won't load!
     
  11. rpaloalto macrumors 6502a

    rpaloalto

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Palo Alto CA.
    #11
    Do both computers have the same version of safari. Are they both running the same OS?
    What is the website?
     
  12. rpaloalto macrumors 6502a

    rpaloalto

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Palo Alto CA.
    #12
    Open disk utility, found in your utilities folder. Click on your drive and hit repair permissions.
     
  13. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
  14. dedalus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
  15. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #15
    Works fine for me.. have you tried loggin your account off and trying to make a new account and trying it under that to make sure its not just some setting in your user account?
     
  16. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  17. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #17
  18. rpaloalto macrumors 6502a

    rpaloalto

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Palo Alto CA.
    #18
    check for any updates, repair permissions, then reset safari.
     
  19. dedalus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #19
    made small progess. if i don't put the www in front it loads fine. any advice?
     
  20. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #20
    This sounds like a DNS issue. Check your DNS servers on both Macs - are they the same? To check, go into System Preferences, then Network. Select the interface you use to connect to the Internet, and click Configure... In here, click TCP/IP. You'll see the DNS servers there.
     

Share This Page