MacBook doesnt sleep? (Malware?)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by yusukeaoki, Feb 16, 2012.

  1. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    Hi guys.

    The reason I suspect its malware is because comcast contacted me saying I've been attacked with malware.

    But here is the problem.
    I ran activity monitor, but dont see anything suspicious.
    However, my computer doesnt sleep when I close the lid.
    Yes, I do set "sleep when lid is closed", but it just doesnt sleep!

    I noticed this yesterday when I was about to go to bed and I heard my HDD and my fan go.

    Also, I turned off WiFi to see if anything is being sent and my MBP is receiving and sending something about 2kbps every time.

    Any solution for the sleep?
    Is it a possible malware?

    I reinstalled norton and Macscan.
    Norton, I got nothing and Macscan discovered 89 tracking cookies but thats it...

    Thanks
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Does :apple: > Sleep or CMD+OPTION+EJECT work to sleep your Mac?
    Have you tried an SMC reset yet?
    Intel-based Macs: Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC) (Apple Support Site)

    If the first link does not work, as the Apple Support Pages are bit funky these last weeks:
    Intel-based Macs: Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC) (PDF from that Apple Support Page about resetting the SMC)​

    You could try ClamXAV to scan your Mac for possible malware.

    There are currently no viruses for Mac OS X in public circulation, only a handful of trojans and other malware, which have to be installed manually via entering the administrator password.
    The only anti-virus you need to protect your Mac is education and common sense.
    Also know, that the term "virus" is often used to refer to other kinds of malware, but there are differences, which you can find out by reading the following:

    Mac Virus/Malware Info by GGJstudios
     
  3. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    Tried is and it goes blank but the screen comes on again.
    Im running ClamXAV right now.
    If it doesnt find anything, Im resetting the SMC.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Don't believe Comcast. There is no way on earth they can know if your computer is infected with malware. How did they contact you?
    No, it's not.
    Mac OS X: Why your Mac might not sleep or stay in sleep mode
    Determine why your Mac wakes up from sleep
    Uninstall them. You don't need any 3rd party antivirus app to keep your Mac malware-free. Macs are not immune to malware, but no true viruses exist in the wild that can run on Mac OS X, and there never have been any since it was released over 10 years ago. You cannot infect your Mac simply by visiting a website, unzipping a file, opening an email attachment or joining a network. The only malware in the wild that can affect Mac OS X is a handful of trojans, which cannot infect your Mac unless you actively install them, and they can be easily avoided with some basic education, common sense and care in what software you install. Also, Mac OS X Snow Leopard and Lion have anti-malware protection built in, further reducing the need for 3rd party antivirus apps.
     
  5. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #5
    Thank you GGJstudios!
    Comcast contacted me through e-mail.
    They sent it over 3 times telling me that my computer is effected by malware.
    I ran many tests but nothing came up.
    And yes definitely uninstalling norton and Macscan.
    All they do is make my Mac slow.
     
  6. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #6
    Comcast does send DMCA takedown warnings. Got two last week when one of my kids friends was here with his laptop. Running a torrent client and seeding without being aware? That was the case here.

    -
     
  7. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    That makes sense because I use torrent almost everyday.
    But I delete trackers so it shouldnt be a problem but...
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    What Ccrew suggests would explain that. Comcast may have gotten complaints that you had seeded infected files to others, even though those files may not affect your Mac. While your Mac is assured of being free of Mac OS X malware (unless you installed it yourself), you can always receive and pass on files that are infected with Windows malware, even though such malware is impotent on Mac OS X. Use ClamXav to scan files before you seed them, or don't seed at all, since you don't know what malware protection, if any, a leecher might have installed. And I highly recommend you never torrent software applications at all. These are the most likely sources for trojans.
     
  9. raxafarian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #9
    this was my problem:

    I had the same issue with no sleep when shutting the lid. I'd open the lid and the screen would light up for a few seconds and then go black. If I waited a minute or so I could click the trackpad and the screen would turn back on.

    Drove me crazy for about 2 weeks. Then I noticed if I unplugged the cord it would sleep fine. More head scratching.

    I found this someplace .... open a terminal window and type:
    pmset -g assertions

    and you can see what is keeping it from sleeping. In my case it was a few printers set for sharing (don't know how that happened). I deleted the unneeded printers and turned sharing off on the two I use.

    Reran the terminal command:
    pmset -g assertions
    and now nothing is preventing system sleep.

    Other commands I used:
    pmset -g (to get the process id)

    and
    ps -ef |grep -e 17
    (with 17 being the process id from the previous command results)


    Hope this helps.
     

Share This Page