macbook dose not startup after upgrading 667mhz ram

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mark p, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. mark p macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    #1
    Hi

    I have attempted to upgrade the ram in a 3,1 macbook to 4GB but the ram dose not seem to be recognised. I bought 2 sicks of 2GB 667mhz pc2 5300 which should work.

    If I put one of the old 512mb sticks in at the same time the laptop will boot with 2.5gb
    but with a just single 2gb stick or both it dose not boot (just the light on with a black screen)
    So dose anyone know of a way of getting the macbook to boot with out the old ram?
     
  2. sonspot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    #2
    did you try booting with the 512 and both of the 2gb or just one, try both (one at a time :) ), maybe one of the 2gb is bad.
     
  3. chill. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
  4. mark p thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    #4
    Thanks for your help.
    I tried all combinations and they only worked with one of the old sticks in at the same time as a new one.

    The ram was unbranded (and cheaper than crucial etc) so I guess thats part of the problem. Maybe they are not actually 667Mhz despite saying that on the packet
     
  5. sonspot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    #5
    that sucks, i just picked up 4gb (two 2gb sticks used, kingston i think) for my B-MB, if you bought them new, i say take them back and look for a local deal, you can get good used ram for cheap..

    i also picked 2gb back in the summer, still working great.

    guess i should update my sig.
     

Share This Page