Macbook for High School

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ahanns, Jun 10, 2010.

1. ahanns macrumors newbie

I am trying to decide which Macbook to get. I am an incoming freshman in high school and I will be using the following programs regularly:
    • Safari (a lot)
    • iPhoto
    • iMovie
    • Garageband
    • Pages
    • Numbers
    • Keynote
    • iDVD (sometimes)
    I'm constantly on the computer, so good specs are important to me. I want either a 13" or a 15" Macbook Pro but I wouldn't buy one over $2,000. I would even consider getting the white Macbook if that's all I need. I also do a lot of multitasking. Thanks!

Also, if anyone can help me by posting facts that will convince my mom why I need a Macbook over my current slow, PC laptop.

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Any Mac is fine. If you have 2000$ budget, the 15" with i5 and hi res screen is tempting, for me at least ;)

Macs don't get slow, they last longer, no viruses etc. Use those for your mum

3. ClassicII macrumors 6502

ClassicII

To be honest you would be fine with a standard macbook.

But in the long run I think you would be better off with a mbp. You can find some nice deals in the refurb store.

4. cloroxbleach4 macrumors 6502a

cloroxbleach4

I agree with Classic.

Check out the refurb store for some deals. And if that doesn't interest you a baseline MBP would serve your needs just fine.

5. xi mezmerize ix macrumors 6502a

xi mezmerize ix