MacBook for Illustrator

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by aerobeaver, Oct 3, 2007.

1. aerobeaver macrumors newbie

I'm looking to by a Mac laptop (preferably the MacBook for the size and cost), but I have some concerns about the graphics. I'm an engineering grad student so I spend most of my time in Matlab, but I also use a bit of Illustrator and Photoshop. I use Illustrator mainly to make posters (A1 size with gradients, drop shadows, linked jpgs and whatnot). My Photoshop use has thus far been pretty limited, mostly cropping, scaling, touching up my photos.

Does anyone have any experience running Illustrator (and/or Photoshop, Matlab) on a Macbook? Are these the kind of tasks that are suitable for the MacBook or would it require the MacBook Pro?

Thanks!

2. kerotab macrumors member

kerotab

I have CS2 on my C2D macbook and don't have any problems with it. It works well for me.

3. Mr. B macrumors regular

photoshop suite cs3 is native, so that would be the one you want to get.

That being said, I use photoshop cs on my ibook g4 1.2 ghz with 1.25 gigs of ram at blazing fast speeds.

This is at 11 x 17 300 dpi and 40+ layers. I do my illustrations directly into it using a large wacom tablet as well.

My trick? Get a really fast and good external hardrive and use it as your primary scratch disk. (easy to setup up, right in the preferences of photoshop, illustrator, etc.)

So, anyways, get a good external scratch disk and you should be fine.

(I use a firewire 400 mybook 250 gig)

4. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

Mac Book runs Illustrator and Photoshop just fine. CS2 worked well enough on 1GB memory even with Rosetta. CS3 is native and I've had no problems with that either.

Had the Mac Book running Bridge, Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Safari, Mail, calculator, and Pages, and iTunes all at the same time with no problems.

5. Jim Campbell macrumors 6502a

Jim Campbell