MacBook for iPhone dev?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by dBC, Jan 15, 2010.

  1. dBC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm a complete mac idiot, but I've got an idea for an iPhone app I would like to write, and I'm looking for a good Mac to develop with. I'm thinking the white unibody MacBook would be a good fit. If I get it, I would probably retire my windows laptop, and run Win7 on the Mac. I don't (initially) see myself doing much on the Mac partition except iPhone development.

    Would this be a good machine for what I want to do?
     
  2. RITZFit macrumors 65816

    RITZFit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    In my Corner
    #2
    any recent mac should be fine for what you've described.
     
  3. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #3
    first, you're going to have to spend over $1,000 on a mac. second, you need to learn how to program objective c, and cocoa, and how to use xcode, etc. third, you need to pay apple $100 just to submit your app, and you have to hope that they approve it. so is it really worth it? hell yeah foo!
     
  4. dBC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #4
    well, I bought the MacBook today. Right now I'm in the middle of the 2.5GB iPhone SDK download.

    Any tips to get it all working?
     
  5. vistadude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #5
    Make sure you make a shared FAT32 partition to share data between Mac and Windows.
     
  6. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
  7. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #7
    Or you could spend half of that on a Mac. The Mac Mini can run Xcode just fine (about any computer built after 1990 can run a text editor and compiler).
     
  8. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #8
    but then u need to buy a monitor, and the look on the non-apple monitors look like crap. also, u can take your laptop with u, u cant do that with a desktop.
     

Share This Page