macbook freezes 6 gig ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Rick51, Mar 28, 2017.

  1. Rick51 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    #1
    Hi

    I have MacBook
    MC240LL/A
    Model
    A1181 (EMC 2330)
    Family Mid-2009
    ID MacBook5,2
    Yosemite os


    I upgraded my memory to 6 gb. The problem is the system graphics gets pixelated ( lack of better description) and then the machine freezes. I can still move the mouse around but not much else. Sometimes it will unfreeze for a bit. It seems to act ok with 4gb of ram

    The original memory was Hynix 2rx16 pc2 6400S-666-12
    The new is pc2-6400s ddr2-800 256mx64
    I am not familiar with all the memory terms etc so I don't know if something here would stand out to you folks as a problem.

    If not would you have any suggestions on how to fix this problem? Please be kind as I am not Mac literate as I am trying to fix my daughter in laws machine. So please be simple with your explanations.
     
  2. Sanpete macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    It's almost certainly the new RAM. You should be able to return it and get a replacement if it was recently purchased from a reputable source. (You're using one stick of 4 GB and one of 2, right?)
     
  3. Rick51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    #3
    Yes, and returning it shouldn't be a problem. I knew it was ram related, however I didn't know if it was defective ram or the machine didn't like 6 gb of ram or there was something that needed tweaked. The specs call for 4 max, but it seems lots of people successfully run 6

    According to the apple thing,(top left corner) the ram is recognized and claims the ram is good I might add this clean install of the os

    Thanks for responding
     
  4. MarvinHC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Shanghai, PRC
    #4
    There is a good software that checks the RAM in detail called 'REMBER'
    If this comes back without issues the problem is somewhere else.
     
  5. Rick51 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    #5
    thanks for the suggestion. I did d/l 'rember' and ran the test for 3 loops finding nothing wrong

    As a update I did try to run just that suspect 2 gig stick and it runs fine. It appears the two stick don't play well together or the machine just wont run 6 gig installed If I run the 4 gig stick and 1 gig of my old sticks, it works albeit slower.

    I did email the company ( not sure if I was allowed to mention the company name) were I purchased it from and they graciously are sending me a new 2 gig stick. They also stated the original 1 gig stick and the 2 gig stick are the same speed so not sure why the slow down.

    I will update as soon and the new stick arrives. Any other suggestions appreciated
     
  6. MarvinHC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Shanghai, PRC
    #6
    Unmatched pairs are never ideal. You can (if you have to) work with different brands but try to have the same speed and size. Have you considered getting a second 4GB stick - they are not that expensive these days?

    Some reading you might find interesting:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/302479-30-matched-pair
     

Share This Page