macbook graphics, any good for photoshop cs3?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by spinderellaok, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. spinderellaok macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #1
    i'm thinking of buying the mid range macbook, are the graphics (Intel GMA X3100 graphics processor with 144MB of DDR2 SDRAM shared with main memory4 card) any good for running photoshop cs3.
    I won't be using it for games, but i do need it to be good for photo editing.
    please help me
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Please don't buy into the hype.

    The graphics card in a machine has next to nothing to do with Photoshop performance. Photoshop is a 2-D application and does not benefit from 3-D graphics accelerations (games do, and a very limited number of 3-D modelling and video production programs)

    Given the same CPU speed, the biggest influence on Photoshop speed is the amount of RAM available, second is the read/write speed of the hard drive. Shared-memory integrated graphics makes a tiny drag on performance, but it is way down the list.
     
  3. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
  4. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #4
    Macbook is plenty sufficient for photoshop. Load it down with ram and you're good.

    There is no matte screen for the macbook, only for the pro.
     
  5. spinderellaok thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #5
    thanks guys
    also i forgot to ask earlier, would it also be sufficient for running windows xp on. sorry about all the questions, i don't know that much about computers.
     
  6. spawn135 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #6
    PhotoShop is a CPU and RAM thing. Not a video card thing.
     
  7. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Yes Win xP will run just fine .. :)
     

Share This Page