MacBook - Handling Leopard's 3D effects?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TSE, Aug 11, 2007.

?

Do you think the MacBook will handle Leopard's 3D effects?

  1. Yes

    62 vote(s)
    71.3%
  2. No

    4 vote(s)
    4.6%
  3. Yes with some difficulty

    21 vote(s)
    24.1%
  1. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #1
    Do you think any of the generations of MacBooks will handle Leopard's 3D effects with the GMA950?
     
  2. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #2
    I'm sure that they were careful to make sure that everything would work, they are still to new for Apple not to care about the people who bought them getting full use out of the newest operating system.
     
  3. aliquis- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #3
    What 3d? Core animation? Its usage seems to be sparingly, if anything ;D

    Tigers effects works even without 3d acceleration (or well, not the riple effect.)
     
  4. Tumeg101 macrumors 6502a

    Tumeg101

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    #4
    I have heard that apple might upgrade the integrated graphics, to work with leopard better... but this is just a rumor, I seriously hope apple does upgrade the graphics, even if leopard does work fine with the current MacBooks
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
  6. Stadsport macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    #6
    Leopard doesn't have any 3D effects other than Time Machine, which is perfectly smooth.

    Honestly 9A499 is REALLY fast. 9A466 wasn't too shabby but it was logging everything, which slowed it down.
     
  7. RaMaz macrumors regular

    RaMaz

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #7
    Works Great

    Works Great, I Used To Run 9A466 On My MacBook.
     
  8. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
    #8
    Yeah, agreed. I don't think the Macbook will have too many issues with Leopard.
     
  9. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #9
    If you think 9A499 is really fast, wait to you see the builds after it. Spotlight is super snappy. I noticed a major performance increase; it actually works like it says, instantaneous results as I type in my search terms. Not gonna need Quicksilver any more if the performance stays that good on a loaded down system.

    And yes, the MacBook will have no problem performing any and all of Leopard's new animations.
     
  10. mgargan1 macrumors 65816

    mgargan1

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    #10
    well, i don't think that they would get much pr success if they didn't make their products capible of running their software.
     
  11. swampfox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #11
    ditto. Apple is not gonna leave you hangin!:cool:
     
  12. Foxglove9 macrumors 65816

    Foxglove9

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #12
    It'll run perfectly fine. The next OS after Leopard is another question.

    I tend to turn off those 'dazzling' effects anyway :)
     
  13. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #13
    It will run perfectly. Like said before, Apple won't drop full support for such a huge chunk of their product line. Something tells me that most of the people that say that there will be issues own a macbook pro. :rolleyes:
     
  14. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    i was under the impression that leopard, with the same computer when upgraded from tiger, would run at the same if not faster than previous OS's.

    i.e. leopard on your mac will run faster than tiger.
     
  15. matthewp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #15
    Isn't that pointing to Leopard (64bit) running faster than Tiger (on 64bit systems)??
     
  16. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    uumm i spose so.

    i was just stating in general that i was under the impression that leopard is optimized/able to perform better. or will it need more resources like vista :p

    like of course it will need more resources... but you know..

    tiger isnt fully 64-bit neway, dont forget
     
  17. Mac-Addict macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Leopard should run better on your Macbook becuase it has been designed for intel chips aside to Tiger being ported to work on intel chips, so with the fact it will run faster I think a few 3D effects should be easy.
     
  18. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #18
    Oops accidentally voted no, but I meant yes. I don't think the MacBook will have any problems with Leopard. :)
     
  19. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #19
    I'd disagree. When Tiger came out, there were systems still being sold that couldn't handle some of the CoreImage real-time effects like the Dashboard ripple. And other ones like the effects in iMovie were handled by the CPU rather than the processor which meant they took rather longer.

    Sure things will work... but you might not get all the eye-candy...
     
  20. Macmadant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #20
    I've got the leopard from WWDC 07 installed on a C2D imac with 1 GB RAM and a 256 mb Radeon X1600, and some of the things, such as cover flow, take about 5 seconds for render properly and get the preview correctly, and photo-booth is as slow as hell, time machine is a little jerky in terms of 3D effects, of course this is a beta, and i certainly hope apple clears things up, but if this is what is to come from a X1600, i wouldn't be to thrilled about using a GMA 950
     
  21. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #21
    Seems like there are differences with experiences regarding the Leopard Beta. Perhaps they had sorted out the X1600 driver properly and i'd imagine it will work a lot better upon release.
     
  22. aliquis- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #22
    Isn't quicksilver much more convenient for launching apps?
     
  23. aliquis- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #23
    64-bit apps doesn't have to be faster than 32-bit apps, people need to learn that some day, or notice it =P

    Anyway Leopard will probably be faster in some areas because even more stuff are moved away from PPC-code into universal binaries therefor not loading Rosetta any more.

    Only part which would make it slower is 3D effects but I doubt a transparent menu bar will put the Macbook to a halt .... Spotlight graphics are simple aswell and you won't use that the whole time. The "explosion" effect in some apps might use a little power but nothing the 950GMA won't be able to handle, and it's not like that is used all the time either.

    So no worries, WHAT would slow it down? ..
     
  24. aliquis- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #24
    We don't know that either I suppose.
     
  25. aliquis- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #25
    OS X had been there for x86 all the time, but yes, some apps and parts of it where PPC and still are, and run thru emulation. So yes, Leopard will probably be faster on x86-hardware, maybe a little slower on PPC due to more effects.
     

Share This Page