Macbook Hard Drive Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by gbriker, Jan 25, 2010.

1. gbriker macrumors newbie

I have a White, 13 inch, non-unibody Macbook from early 2008.
    It has a 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB of RAM, and Hard Drive that holds about 150-160 GB. I am a video editor, and I use Final Cut Express with HD video, and the footage is starting to eat away at my hard drive space - I'm down to 50 GB. I want to upgrade my internal Hard Drive, if possible to a 7200 RPM, 500GB - I am looking at this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ..._hard_drive_500gb_7200-_-22-145-275-_-Product

Will I be able to use this hard drive on my laptop? Will Apple help me replace my drive? Also, I have a Time Machine Backup on an external drive- will this help me transfer my data from drive to drive, or would I need another application?

Thanks For The Help

2. msjones macrumors 6502

msjones

You can easily replace the drive yourself. If you remove the battery you will see 3 screws on the silver strip. Remove them and then remove the L strip. You will be able to see the hard drive. Pull the tab and remove the hard drive and replace with your new one.

You will have to do a reinstall of OS X and all your applications and complete a new time machine back up.

It may be worth while putting your 160GB in an external 2.5" caddy and use it for storing your video?

3. Kim Philby macrumors newbie

I don't think the 13" models support a 500gb HDD. I believe 160 is the biggest you can put in there.

4. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

GfulDedFan

This is an incorrect statement.

An intel Mac has no storage size limitation.. only a physical size limitation. As long as it's SATA 2.5" and no larger than 9.5mm tall, it can be installed. There is an exception that should be noted and that is a Hard Drive that is equipped with a sudden motion sensor has been known to conflict with MacBook built-in sensor to the extent of causing some problems in some cases.

5. js81 macrumors 65816

js81