Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Darkaholic

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 1, 2013
San Diego
Hello

I have a 2.3 ghz intel core i7, 8gb memory macbook pro.
I have been with it for over a year. I am a videographer, so I work on a lot of video, 8 hours a day, 5 days a week. My macbook heats up very much mostly when I am recharging and working on it right in between the keyboard and the screen in the center. I am going to buy a hybrid solid state drive, to speed up my computer, do you think this would help to cool it down over long periods of time of work? is it possible I also need to purchase a new better video card for my mac?

Thank you!! :) :apple:

Last edited:

Queen6

macrumors G4
Video card is not replaceable as the chip is soldered to the logic board, your only path here is a newer Mac, I don't see a hybrid drive having any impact on system temperatures.

If you are concerned about temperature and want to reduce it elevation of the rear of the machine helps, as sitting flat on the desk only reflects the heat back to the base of the Mac. You can buy passive aluminium coolers like Rain Designs Mstand or iLap. Most powered coolers are designed for PC notebooks and don't work overly well with Mac`s if at all. One cooler that does work efficiently is the Moshi Zefyr 2, as it`s principle of cooling is specifically designed for Apple portables, by blowing the air horizontally across the base of the computer, however don't expect miracles.
zefyr2_1.jpg
zefyr2_2.jpg

13113194925802.jpg

Link: Moshi Zefyr 2
A cheap USB fan can achieve the same if strategically placed, not as elegant mind, nor as easy to put in your notebooks case :p but they do help to reduce case temperatures.