Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JesLam07

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 2, 2007
Johnstown, PA
Hi, This is my first time posting on here and I need some help from all you Mac experts out there. I fell in love with the MacBook from the second I saw it. I'm finally one when I transfer to a different college next year, and I want it to be perfect. I'm going to give you a little background so that you guys know what I'll be using the computer for. I'm going to be a graphic design major, so I'll be needing lots of space to store photos and I'll probably install photoshop and stuff like that on it. I also love Music so I want it to be able to hold lots of it. I'll also need it for the internet and word processing and the usual college stuff. I already know I'll need the Apple USB modem for when I am at home. I'm not much of a gamer, but there are a few games I would like to put on there such as Scrabble or The Sims. I just wanted some recommendations as to what specs would be ideal for me.

I've been looking at this one...

MacBook (White) - Apple Store Online (with Applecare)
Specifications :
2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
200GB Serial ATA @ 4200 rpm
SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
Keyboard/Mac OS - U.S. English
iWork preinstalled
Apple USB Modem
AirPort Extreme Card & Bluetooth

I want to get something I'm going to be able to use for a while. I'm mostly worried about the Ram and Hard drive. I probably won't be buying it until this summer (ish).

Let me know what you guys think.

J@ffa

macrumors 6502a
Jul 21, 2002
Behind you!