MacBook - Install Disc Misplaced

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by darthraige, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #1
    I have misplaced my MacBook re-install disc, is it possible to use an install disc from a newer model MacBook? That should work right? You just can't use a MacPro re-install disc, right?

    Sorry if this was posted. Couldn't find it anywhere at the moment.

    Thanks,
    Raige
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    No, they are tied to the model and revision.

    You can call Apple and get them replaced.
     
  3. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #3
    Have you tried / Has this been tested before? That would be weird that you couldn't do it. It's just software. Interesting.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    This has been tested.
     
  5. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #5
    You're in Boston so just book an appointment at the Genius Bar online for the Apple store on Boylston Street and they will reinstall the OS for you at no charge.
     
  6. TheScavenger macrumors 6502

    TheScavenger

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #6
    The restore discs are $19 a disc to buy from Apple.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Per disk, so if you want both iLife and OS X, you need to pay twice.
     
  8. darthraige thread starter macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #8
    Oh I would never go to that store. I hate going in the city, especially for parking. haha. I would go to the one less than 3 min from my house at the mall. haha :D
     
  9. eneisch macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #9
    I think the reason you need the software disc for your model of computer is that it is pre-loaded with the drivers that are needed by that specific model when the OS is being setup. Hence the discs from the new aluminum macbook has different video drivers etc which would not work on your earlier macbook version.

    Hope this helps!
     

Share This Page