Macbook keyboard not responding?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by CanadianDonkey, Apr 2, 2008.

  1. CanadianDonkey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    I've had my macbook for about two weeks now, and I'm having a problem with it.

    Every once in a while, I'll be going about, doing my thing, then they keyboard stops responding, none of the keys work, I can't access quicksilver, dashboard, or spaces (or anything else that requires the use of keys) however, my trackpad still works perfectly fine. Then a few moments later (like a minute) everything starts working like nothing happened.

    What might be the cause of this problem? My processors and ram arn't maxed out, and my battery's fully charged, so I don't understand this.

    Help, much appreciated.
     
  2. AlexanderTgreat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg canada
    #2
    Mine has exactly the issue usually a restart fixes it. With all the problem macbooks have though, I'm thankful if this is the only one that I encounter.
     
  3. jcs1088 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #3
    A lot of people used to have this problem, including myself, but apple has fixed the problem with a keyboard update a few months ago. All you have to do is click on the apple in the Menu Bar and Software Upadte and install whatever needs to be installed. If your still having the problem, well that's something I'm afraid I can't help you with.
     
  4. ricpac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #4
    This should be fixed with the keyboard firmware update 1.1
    Just fire up software update as advised above ^^ Good luck!
     
  5. CanadianDonkey thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #5
    Well, seeing that the keyboard only goes dead for for about a minute, then everything works fine, a reset would actually take longer than just waiting for the problem to go away.


    But I'll try the updating, see how that works, thanks guys.
     

Share This Page