Macbook Keyboard

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by javed101, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. javed101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #1
    Hello. I recently bought a new macbook keyboard (for the old white macbook 4,1), and I just noticed that it lacks media keys (i.e. play/pause, rewind, and fast forward).

    Is it possible to bind those functions to unspecialized F keys? (for example, my f8, f9, and f10 have no special functions, so is it possible to specialize them for play, rewind, and ff functions?)

    Thanks!
     
  2. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    why don't you use the keys from your last keyboard?
    you can also order individual keys from ebay.
     
  3. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #3
    What do you mean lacking media keys?
    They are missing, or they just don't have labels?
     
  4. javed101, Feb 29, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012

    javed101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #4
    They're actually missing. The keyboard itself functions differently. For example, the volume keys are on the f3, f4, and f5 keys now.
    Here's the best picture I could find on the internet of it (it's a little hard to see):
    http://image.made-in-china.com/2f0j...13-3-inch-A1181-Top-Case-with-Keyboard-US.jpg

    How it looked before: http://www.notebookcheck.net/uploads/tx_nbc2/overview_hero2_20090527.png

    Very different from the stock keyboard (It has a freakin' num lock on the f6 key).
     
  5. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    What you have bought is a V2 top case - fitted to the late 2006 and mid 2007 MacBooks. What you need is a V3 top case fitted from late 2007 to mid 2009 MacBooks.

    As you have found it V2 has a numeric keyboard and no media keys. Best really to return it and get the correct version. If that is not an option then sell it and buy the correct version....
     
  6. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #6
    The two models of the keyboard are electrically different - simply swapping on the keys won't do anything. You'll need to find a new top case with the updated keyboard in it - the best, if rather expensive source that I know of is iFixit. You should be able to simply swap the bugger on and have it all work. I put the updated top case on my Core Duo MacBook a while back and it works wonderfully :)
     
  7. javed101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
  8. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #8
    You aren't missing any keys, physically. You have all of the keys.

    That's the exact keyboard as on my 2007 MacBook 2,1.

    I have heard of newer top cases being put on older MacBooks. But not the other way around.
     
  9. javed101, Mar 1, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2012

    javed101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #9
    Yeah. I screwed up. XD

    Meh. I'm only using it until the new macbook pros come out anyway. So I'll just have to suffer for a little while.

    But does anyone know any way (or any tutorial where they can show me how) to bind keys to perform specific functions?
     

Share This Page