MacBook m3 black screen on wake, very hot

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by jlsm511, May 9, 2016.

  1. jlsm511 macrumors 6502

    jlsm511

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    KMIA
    #1
    So I got my new 2016 MacBook m3 about 2 weeks ago and I love it! Huge upgrade from my 2015 MacBook 1.1. I've noticed an odd behavior though thats happened two times now. When I open my MacBook and try and wake it up, the screen stays black. The bottom case is also extremely warm, almost like its been doing something while asleep. I have to press and hold the power button to get a response, and then it gives me the "Your Mac has experienced an error" message and to press a key to reboot.

    I've repaired the disk from the recovery partition. Has anyone else experienced this issue or found ways around it?
     
  2. Mollan macrumors member

    Mollan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands/Italy
    #2
    It happened to me twice, and both times I had Parallels running before closing the lid. I suspect the problem is in that software.
     
  3. jlsm511 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jlsm511

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    KMIA
    #3
    Now this has started happening. Only a restart seems to help. Ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jlsm511 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jlsm511

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    KMIA
    #4
    And now I'm getting this. I'm at a loss. Has anyone else run into this and resolved it?

    Should I reinstall the OS? Could it be software?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. SSD-GUY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    I wouldn't even reinstall the OS, go straight to Apple. It's barely a month old.
     
  6. titleistman18 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    #6
    Ditto. I'm confident that despite being past the 14 day period for a return that Apple will just replace your problematic rMB for a new one.
     
  7. jlsm511 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jlsm511

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    KMIA
    #7
    Just returned from a horrific trip to the Apple Store. The geniuses and managers take was basically "we'll repair it, but your not getting it replaced, so take it or leave it." I called AppleCare at the store, who were the ones who got me the Genius Bar appointment and set the expectation in the first place about it being able to be replaced, and they are setting me up to do a mail in replacement of the machine. Why they couldn't just replace it in the store instead of shipping me a new one and me shipping the old one back is beyond me, but hopefully this resolves the issue. They seem to think it is a logic board/GPU issue since it starts happening once the CPU is put under load. Will keep you all updated!
     

Share This Page