macbook memory upgrade problem

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by lilmanj534, Aug 18, 2009.

  1. lilmanj534 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #1
    I have a black macbook core duo with a 2g processor speed and only 512 memory. I got 4g of memory for it. The memory is kingston and i read several reviews that said it would work on mac but may not show all 4g depending on the chipset which is fine but when i installed it and turned it on, it stays on the black screen and will not go through startup operations. Any suggestions?
     
  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    Put the original RAM back in and see if it works.
     
  3. lilmanj534 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #3
    yes it works with the original memory and i am currently using it with that memory.
     
  4. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #4
    That computer only supports up to 2GB since it's a CoreDuo model.

    Try putting only one of the 2GB DIMMs that you bought, does that work?
     
  5. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #5
    The Core Duo - 2GB RAM Maximum is such that if more than 2GB are installed, your MacBook will not get past the RAM test and will fail to boot. If you want to successfully upgrade to 2GB, it would be best to install a 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB). You should try what NewMacbookPlz advises (install only one of your 2GB chipsets) and if that works for you, that can be a solution as well although you would get a performance boost from having a matched pair with the kit. -GDF
     

Share This Page