macbook mini-dvi to dvi (external 22" lcd grainy and blurry)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tkchunc, Apr 21, 2007.

1. tkchunc macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am a switcher and love the macbook (and I am a hardcore pc builder, have been since I was 12).

I connect my 22" lcd to my macbook with the mini dvi to dvi cable. I get the correct resolution on it ( 1680 x 1050). The image though is very blurry / grainy. The LCD looks far superior via my PC. The LCD on the macbook looks fine, clear, everything is good.

Any ideas on what I should do?

My LCD is a Sceptre brand. Note, it is nothing wrong with the LCD, since it looks great and clear on my PC desktop.

Maybe I need a driver?

2. Maxx Power macrumors 6502a

Maxx Power

I think I heard of this somewhere before, not sure now...

You may be out of luck, either that, or try using a DVI-VGA converter, if that also doesn't work, then you can be sure your mini-dvi out is screwed.

3. island macrumors 6502

island

Try it with another monitor to test and make sure it works correctly.

4. Helianthus macrumors member

I just bought one of these connectors yesterday so reading this just freaked me out. It gave me the motivation to actually test it, and I think it looks fine. I also have a 22" LCD although mine is an Acer.

5. Maxx Power macrumors 6502a

Maxx Power

I wouldn't actually freak out, remember, you have apple's warranty, if something inside breaks then you can always use your consumer rights. I remember the Mini had a list of compatible and incompatible monitors when it first came out, and the Macbook Pro's had a problem with the transmitter chip dithering incorrectly on the internal display causing colour banding and fringing.

6. shabba macrumors newbie

I have also purchased one of these and it works amazing, with my Glass Fronted Ag-neovo 19inch DVI monitor :)

7. zaphod987 macrumors newbie

Same issue!