MacBook no longer sleeps when idle

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cleanup, Aug 9, 2007.

  1. cleanup macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    This is rather confusing. As of late my MacBook doesn't go to sleep if you leave it idle, plugged in or on battery power. I'm not running any new apps. I haven't changed anything. I'm not downloading, not playing music...

    Any idea what could be causing it? Is there some sort of Terminal command that I can turn this functionality on/off with? Or something I can check it with?

    Thanks.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Have you checked the Energy Saver settings in System Preferences?
     
  3. cleanup thread starter macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    'Course I have. I have it set to sleep after 5 min... doesn't even sleep after 10. Display dims and turns off, but it never sleeps.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    I find if my Bluetooth mouse is running low on battery power it'll stop my iMac going to sleep. What devices do you have connected or plugged in? Also, have you tried resetting your SMC? :)
     
  5. cleanup thread starter macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    I thought of that, and I turned off my BT keyboard, turned off Bluetooth. I hae nothing connected...

    Resetting the SMC did not help. :(
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    My PowerBook hasn't slept since 10.4.10 and the screen is dimming when I'm using the computer. I've heard that several other models have been demonstrating similar problems.

    Hopefully, 10.4.11 or 10.4.12 will fix the problem for every laptop computer Apple make.
     
  7. cleanup thread starter macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    I'm running 10.4.9... :S
     
  8. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #8
    Maybe, you should be. :D Yours will be the one machine that it fixes.
     
  9. cleanup thread starter macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    Well I'm not sure if I'm willing to wait until 10.4.11!

    Besides, I don't think it's that. It didn't used to do this and I've been using 10.4.9 since I got the thing...

    Bump. :(
     
  10. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #10
    Tried making another user account and see if it sleeps when logged in to that?

    Can you manually put it to sleep?

    Also, have you got the same settings for battery and power adapter? I sometimes forget that I have sleep disabled when connected using power adapter and I find my laptop is still running when I wake up in the morning!
     
  11. Wipeout macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #11
    I have had the same problem; I can always put the machine to sleep, but about 25% of the time it does not sleep from an extended idle state. It dims, the screen blackens, then it pops back to life raring to go. The occurrence of the malfunction is seemingly random.

    I spoke to a tech, a case no. is now on file, but he couldn't diagnose it.

    Don't quite know what to do now...
     
  12. cleanup thread starter macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #12
    No.

    Yes.

    No the settings are different. :(

    I'm at my wits end with this... anyone else have any ideas?
     
  13. cleanup thread starter macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #13
    Okay, big bump.

    Earlier I found my MacBook sleeping when idle. I had no idea what had changed. So I stopped caring. Now the problem has returned.

    Still no ideas? :(
     

Share This Page