MacBook not recognizing canon hv30 camera

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by tjespo22, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. tjespo22 macrumors 6502a

    tjespo22

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Staten Island NY
    #1
    Hey so my little brother got a MacBook for Christmas and is trying to connect his camera to it but it won't see it. He is using a USB obviously because the MacBook does not have FireWire.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    It won't recognize it.

    You need to capture using FW.
     
  3. tjespo22 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tjespo22

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Staten Island NY
    #3
    So there is now way to get his computer to work with this camera?
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    AFAIK, there is no way to capture from that camera through USB.
     
  5. xStep macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #5
    Bloody Apple! I really wish they'd stop messing around with removing Firewire.
     
  6. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #6
    Yeah, unfortunately he's out of luck. The USB port on the HV30 is strictly for offloading still photos stored on a miniSD card.

    There's no way to add FW functionality to a base MacBook.

    Though it may or may not be financially feasible for your brother, Apple should be able to offer an exchange up to a 13" MBP (which does have FW) for the price difference.
     
  7. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #7
  8. xStep macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #8
    That doesn't look reasonable for a Mac users. The system requirements are; Windows 7, Windows Vista (SP2),Windows XP (SP3).

    Also, it isn't clear to me that you can import HD material from an HDV camera into a friendly HD editing format. I wonder what the file format & codec of the file would be.
     
  9. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #9
    I dont know where I read it but I am sure that it works with mac osx.
    maybe not on that site, but somewhere.

    and you're right, does it work in HD and what codec?
    It was just a suggestion.
     
  10. aceventura macrumors newbie

    aceventura

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #10
    I just got the VIXIA HF 30 for Xmas. Thanks Santa!! What I did was load using the USB cable. I first opened iMovie (09) and had the usb and camera connected then turned on my camera. I forgot what the prompt said but I remember touching the icon to the bottom right screen. I was able to download and make a youtube review on this camera. You can see my mac in the background!!!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dCh5zXR8IjE
     
  11. yoak macrumors 65816

    yoak

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #11
    Different camera my friend. The HV30 is a tape based HDV camera. You need FW to capture from it
     
  12. JuiceyJuice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #12
    I have an HV40 and I do use FW to transfer over HD video, but I know with mine you can use USB to transfer over SD video. You would think it would be the same for the HV30.
     

Share This Page