MacBook not recognizing new hard drive

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by gail19, Mar 23, 2013.

1. gail19, Mar 23, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013

gail19 macrumors newbie

Hi,

I just bought a new 2010 Hitachi hard drive (250GB) to replace the old 2008 Fujitsu hard drive (80GB left) in my Macbook. The seller told me that the new drive contained a fresh install of Mountain Lion and that it should work perfectly on my Macbook, which currently has Leopard. When I tried to install the new hard drive, a crossed circle showed up on the screen and nothing else happened. I turned it off and tried again, this time holding the Option key. Same thing again. Tried again and held down the Control key this time. Two folders showed up, and when I clicked on either one of them, the same result again. I am a complete newbie to all of this and need help. I am not sure whether to return the hard drive or keep trying. Any suggestions?

2. brop52 macrumors 68000

brop52

This is why you buy new HDDs from reputable sellers. Either that, or you didn't install it correctly. It isn't recognizing an OS. Are you sure all of the SATA connectors are properly connected? Also, follow the ifixit guide for your machine. You also didn't say what machine you have which would help us.

3. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

DewGuy1999

Some MacBooks can't run Mountain Lion, which one do you have?

4. Blackbeard909 macrumors newbie

macbook 2.1's black and white, dont support mountain lion. the highest osx you can run is snow leapord

5. gail19 thread starter macrumors newbie

A little more info

I have a white 2008 13" Intel Core 2 Duo Macbook, 2.4GHz, OS X 10.5.8.