Macbook or Macbook 13 inch. Star craft 2

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Yogakun, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. Yogakun macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #1
    Hi, I want to buy a new macbook 13` pro or macbook 13 inch, and I want to know how starcraft II would run on these two machines at high or ultra settings?

    I'm using a quad core, ati , 256meg, 3400 series card now, 4gigs of ram and on medium it goes ok, but not pleased with the speed. I'm definitely needs a better video card, the machine is above the recommended configuration with everything else.
     
  2. TheNewDude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #2
    I doubt that 13" MB/MBP will play Star Craft 2 at high settings. It'll be way too slow. Medium settings would be more realistic.
     
  3. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #3
    even mediums in OSX is a bit unrealistic. I have like shaders to medium, and then it's like 20-30FPS and all else is on lows except a the CPU based ones on med. Within bootcamp though if you're willing, then mediums will run okay.
     
  4. Yogakun thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #4
    Thanks, It's as I thought. I wish they would have relased a 512 card with the latest lower down models. The 256 card feels obsolete.
     
  5. TheNewDude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #5
    Yeah from what I've heard, it's better to have Bootcamp installed. The windows version of Star Craft performs a lot better than the OSX version. It's actually worth it for you to buy Windows and bootcamp it.


    But at the end of the day remember this, your 13" MB/MBP is just a LAPTOP! The screen is too small to enjoy a game like Star Craft. For Star Craft you are better off with one of them new 27"ers ;)
     
  6. skypirate7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #6
    I bought and installed 4 GB of RAM into my late 2008 Macbook (9400m) and now I'm playing smoothly on medium settings. It still recommends "low" in the options menu but it's running well on medium (whereas before medium was unplayable). I played a bunch of ranked games (Gold League 1v1 and 2v2) and a few more campaign missions and it hasn't choked.

    So for those with 2GB of RAM (minimum SC2 Mac settings), I definitely recommend trying 4GB of RAM (recommended SC2 Mac settings). The SC2 performance difference was like night and day for me.
     
  7. jmazzamj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #7
    So you guys advice to get the Windows version, don't you? I'm going to play it on a 2010 MBP 13" 2.4.

    On play.com, they only list one version, could you please clarify this?

    Thank you.
     
  8. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #8
    Well whoever or where ever you buy should include both because you'll have to activate it on battle.net and it will let you download either version. Retail disc has both versions as well.
     
  9. asphyxiafeeling macrumors regular

    asphyxiafeeling

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Location:
    Cali baby!
    #9
    That is incredible news for me. I've got the same macbook as you, with 2 GB! I'll be upgrading up to 4 GB ASAP now, thanks!!
     
  10. Meever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #10
    Most modern blizzard games are platform agnostic. One retail CD will work on both Macs and Windows.

    And yeah, I've got everything on low and still having some lag. Bootcamp really is the way to go. If I didn't despise Windows so much that's what I would be doing right now.
     
  11. jmazzamj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #11
    Thank you. This makes totally sense.

    However, I can only download one or the other, can't I?

    Meever, do you mean I can play WoW retail disc on a Mac?
     
  12. StopSign24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #12
    When you buy the game, you get both versions. If you buy it retail, both versions on the same disk, and if you buy it online, you can download either version from your battle.net account. This goes for all Blizzard games.
     
  13. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #13
    You can download both if you have a PC and Mac hah. Retail gives you both disc install and online installer.
     

Share This Page