MacBook or MacBook Pro for a university student

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mittens09, Jun 5, 2010.

1. mittens09 macrumors newbie

Hi,

I am new to these forums, so I wasn't sure where exactly to post this. I am a second year Journalism student and in need of a laptop for university. I currently own a PC, but after using a Mac at uni, I think I would much prefer a Mac laptop; however, I am undecided as to whether I should purchase a MacBook or MacBook Pro.

The laptop will be used for internet, compiling assignments and general usage... I don't really need any creative software, but it may come in handy in the future. So, which would be the better laptop computer for me: a MacBook or MacBook Pro?

2. bluskale macrumors regular

you would be fine with the macbook.

However, the cheapest macbook pro does come with more ram installed already (4 gb instead of 2 gb), which might save you the trouble of adding in more in the future if you end up doing things beyond text editing. The addition of the firewire port, the sd card slot, illuminated keyboard, extra ram, and aesthetic appeal would certainly push me towards the 13 inch macbook pro, were I in your situation.

3. mittens09 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for that. So the MacBook doesn't come with an SD card slot? And would you recommend the Office for Mac software?

4. andalusia macrumors 68030

andalusia

Nope, the white Macbook lacks an SD card slot. You can go for either Office for Mac or iWork from Apple. They are both suitable application packages and will fit your needs, but iWork is a bit cheaper than Office i believe.

5. mittens09 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for that, tristangage. Aside from what bluskale mentioned, are there any other downsides to the MacBook?

6. andalusia macrumors 68030

andalusia