Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

alebar14

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 14, 2007
Auckland CBD, New Zealand
Hi Guys,

I am looking for a new laptop for a mac.

I used to have an iMac Intel Core Duo 2.0 Ghz and an eMac G4 700 Mhz which are sold it few months ago due to a financial problem.

Now I will be have some cash saved up in an upcoming 2-3 months later as I have a new job. I realize I want to stick with a portability computer as I will do freelance job later on in a near future.

I am a Graphic Designer and mainly I use iMac G5 in my office as to design a classified ads in a magazine publishing company which means I use Adobe Photoshop, Adobe InDesign, Adobe Illustrator, and Microsoft Word.

I want a mac laptop for a freelance work in most print design (designing leaflet, business card, logos, etc) and photography design work too. I want my mac laptop to be used as a multi-entertainment: watch DVD, surfing internet, and chats. I want to use my mac laptop to play games such as The Sims 2 with its expansion packs. Most of the time I'd like to use it as to rip DVD movies.

For the last thing, In a future ( a year or so), I want to use my mac laptop to edit some video editing. I am planning to buy a HDV Sony camcorder in a near future and edit it using either iMovie HD or Final Cut Express. Nothing serious work for video editing in a year or so because I'd probably buy a Prosumer Sony HDV model.

So which one I should consider to buy:

High end Mac Book black/white OR
Mac Book Pro ?

If a Mack Book Pro, what are the difference between :

2.2 Ghz or 2.4 Ghz ?

Thanx guys... looking forward for your further favor.

Warmest Regards,

Alexander Barus

ktbubster

macrumors 6502a
Jan 20, 2007
US