Macbook or Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by da meat tree, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. da meat tree macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #1
    Hey, I'm a high school student that does alot of video editing, and alot of after effects work as well as photoshop and audio editing.

    I was wondering what the difference between rendering videos with the Macbook was vs. the macbook pro. Also, the performance in games such as Left 4 Dead and TF2 between the two as well. Screen size doesn't really matter for me because I will be using an external display. I am also planning to carry the laptop around with me alot.

    Thanks
     
  2. EmperorDarius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    #2
    The MacBook Pro. Features which will aid are:

    -9600M GPU (Photoshop and video editing apps will need it)
    -HDD @7200prm
    -2.8GHz Processor (the 0.4 difference decreases noticeably rendering times)

    Just get a 15" MBP (since you're planning to carry it a lot) with the specs above and 4GB of RAM and it'll be perfect.
     
  3. stevo8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #3
    I believe with the pro having a dedicated graphic card you should notice a decent amount of a difference. If price isnt a big issue go pro.
     
  4. da meat tree thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #4
    Thank you so far, one more question.

    Is it possible for me to hook up 2 external monitors to the MBP? Both through DVI
     
  5. da meat tree thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #5
    I have 2 monitors, 1 2243BW Samsung which is connected to my computer through DVI, and a 19" acer which is connected through dvi, is there anyway to connect both to the macbook through the mini display port?
     
  6. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
  7. LionsKiss macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Location:
    HK
    #7
    There is an add-on you can buy to do that.

    http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/solutions/mac/

    [​IMG]

    It requires DVI connection.

    Edit:Just so you know. This makes your laptop into see a very wide resolution, which then gets divided into two/three screens.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    Well if you use Adobe Premiere, you'll find the GPU in the MBP to be of use.
     

Share This Page