Macbook or MBP? (for gaming + school purposes)

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mcchiefkins, Dec 14, 2008.

1. mcchiefkins macrumors newbie

Hi, im a senior soon to be going into college, and ive been using a Mac mini for about 2 1/2 years now and its served me faithfully, which has made me give my trust to apple. Now though, im going to need a laptop( portability for college) while at the same time, im looking for a gaming unit. Nothing like with top-shelf graphics, but I want to be able to play WOTLK and Diablo 3 at smooth FPS with pretty high settings (Mac Mini bless the poor thing but i got around 18 FPS average in WoW). My question is that with the school discount, I can get the 2.4 GHz MB for $1500, but with the Student developer discount (costs $99) I can then get the 2.4 MBP for $1600 (plus $99 for developer discount) coming out to $1700. I was wondering is it really worth it to get the MB when the Pro is only $200 more ? It seems strange to me, but the main reasons I would go with the MB is the size of it, and while its not the MBP its still a high quality machine, but the Pro is only 200 more, and it has a dedicated graphics card, which is very important to games. I was just hoping some might weigh in about this, and give me a clear opinion to help me out.
    Thanks all

2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

thejadedmonkey

The pro is going to have a better screen. The non-pro has better battery life (from what I've heard). Going from a 14" Samsung laptop to a 15" Apple laptop, I can tell you that the MBP is hefty (in comparison), so don't underestimate size and weight.

As for games, no one knows what D3 will need, as far as requirements go. If you want to be able to play games and have them look good, you should get the MBP.

Your other choice is to build a gaming PC, you can make a decent on for around $350 (using ATI HD 3200 onboard video card), then just upgrade the video card when D3 comes out, and get the smaller MB.

3. shady825 macrumors 68000