MacBook or MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bertofa, Feb 13, 2010.

1. bertofa macrumors newbie

Hi! I'm a newbie in Mac world (I just bought an iMac). I need a portable for ripping DVDs also when I'm out home - meaning just using batteries (the rest of time at home I'll use it for wp, spreadsheets and surfing the net); I travel a lot by train.

Which Mac do you expert guys suggest me?: Book or Pro :confused:

Thanks a lot

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

When all you do is word processing, surfing the 6u, reading/writing email and ripping DVDs (which will cost you battery life due to the spinning), then a MacBook is fine.

As you can see from this comparison sheet, both Macs, or better every Mac except the Air will support what you want to do, and the notebooks, except the Air will give you the freedom of moving it around without an external power source.

3. kernkraft macrumors 68020

kernkraft

For your needs, a basic MacBook would be enough. But if you can afford it and if you don't mind the aluminium, get the 13" Pro. But my advice is - not now!

Wait for the update, it will soon come. Then you can decide. There is not much difference in performance now, but the aluminium has Firewire, if you have a Mini DV camcorder in the family, that's handy. Also. aluminium is more grown-up and sturdy.

4. ajohnson253 macrumors 68000

ajohnson253

I thought that macbook like was all the same now for the unibody's. As in, macbook pro 13"-17'?

Didn't apple decide to make the whole macbook line, 'pro'?

5. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

No, there was always the white MacBook.

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

MacBook
    Our most affordable notebook.
    Just $999
    [​IMG]

13-inch MacBook Pro
    The high-performance notebook for everyone.
    From $1199
    [​IMG]

15-inch MacBook Pro
    The mobile computing powerhouse.
    From $1699
    [​IMG]

17-inch MacBook Pro
    The ultimate mobile studio.
    From $2499
    [​IMG]

MacBook Air