MacBook OS discs on a MB Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by CMD is me, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. CMD is me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #1
    I'm thinking about buying a MacBook for my wife and also wanting to get Leopard on my MB Pro. If I get a new MB can I use the discs to install Leopard on my MB Pro? Do combo drive and superdrive books have the same discs? Thanks
     
  2. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    edit: apparently i was wrong you can do that

    and its slightly illegal (sorta)
     
  3. CMD is me thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #3
    Awe, too bad. I figured if there was a s/n conflict I could swap the two -- put 10.4 on the MB and 10.5 on the MBP. The misses only uses the laptop for surfing/email.
     
  4. Cool6324 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #4
    It'll work fine. It may be unethical; but apple doesn't use any serial numbers.
     
  5. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    Yeah, what the hell is up with the "nay" response.

    It works fine. They're exactly identical. There are no serial numbers, no CD keys, no hardware checks.

    The only problem is if you have a PowerPC model, you can't use the Intel discs and vice versa; failing that you're golden.

    Edit - to clarify 100%. Your Macbook Discs will work PERFECTLY in your Macbook Pro because they are the same discs, if you bought them with a MBP or a MB. The discs have no check of which computer is using them.

    You shouldn't, but if you felt inclined you could very well use the discs on all your friends intel Macs as well.
     
  6. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    well who was it that told me that each system uses its own disks...
     
  7. chaos86 macrumors 65816

    chaos86

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    well they write the name of the system on the disc, but there's no difference in the data.
     
  8. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    well, i knew the g-series disks were different, i just thought they wrote come code into it to make sure you only install on the type of system they were ment for
     
  9. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #9
    Its not true. I used my Macbook Pro discs on my Mac Mini recently. Similarly, I've swapped Macbook pro and Macbook discs before.
     
  10. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    well you learn something new everyday
     
  11. CMD is me thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #11
    Hold up on the ethics -- don't want anyone to misunderstand. The thought is to buy a used MacBook (running 10.4) for my wife and a Leopard upgrade for my MBP or buy a new MacBook running Leopard and swap the discs with my MBP. Assuming the discs want to see a S/N, then the new MacBook would have to use my MPB's 10.4 OS -- just a swap. My wife could be on OS9 for that matter (if it worked). Either way I want to stay legit -- Apple gets more money if I can swap anyway... all my design softare is legit as well -- I really really didn't want to spend $800 on Quark either, but did! (anyone want to buy it, never use it now!) I just want to buy smart.
     

Share This Page