Macbook Panic problem

Discussion in 'macOS' started by xkbmxzero, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. xkbmxzero macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #1
    I keep getting a panic that i am not able to understand. Can someone tell me what exactly this means.


    panic(cpu 0 caller 0x0043913): "Unable to find driver for this platform: \"ACPI\".\n"@/SourceCache/xnu/xnu-1228.15.4/iokit/Kernel/IOPlatformExpert.cpp:1407

    Debugger called: <panic>
    Backtrace (CPU 0), Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack)
    0x1be3bdd8 : 0x12b4c6 (0x45f91c 0x1be3be0c 0x13355c 0x0)
    0x1be3be28 : 0x43913f (0x4a6228 0x3541710 0x1be3be58 0x35b26c0)
    0x1be3be48 : 0x417068 (0x36cb000 0x35a6d80 0x1 0x3f1478)
    0x1be3bea8 : 0x41890b (0x35a6d80 0x36cb000 0x36c0700 0x0)
    0x1be3bf28 : 0x41816f (0x35a6d80 0x35b26c0 0x8 0xffffffff)
    0x1be3bf78 : 0x419803 (0x35a6d80 0x0 0x1be3bfac 0x1)
    0x1be3bfc8 : 0x1a14fc (0x35b0d00 0x0 0x1a40b5 0x35a28b8)
    Backtrace terminated-invalid frame pointer 0

    BSD process name corresponding to current thread: Unknown

    Mac OS verion:
    Not yet set

    Kernel Version:
    Darwin Kernel Version 9.8.0: Wed Jul 15 16:55:01 pdt
    System uptime in nanoseconds: 252742232







    If anyone can tell me what all this means i would greatly appreciate it. Also how to fix the issue. THANKS
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    What are you doing when it happens?

    When did it start happening?

    Is there anything you changed when it started?
     
  3. xkbmxzero thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #4
    sorry

    This problem occurs when i update the system or install an app that requires a reboot. usually i can bypass it by holding option key on restart and select the mac hd. now that trick is no longer working. When i boot up holding command + s it says it fails to load extension driver com.apple.driver.appleACPIPlatform. hopes this help u help me.
     
  4. theone09 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #5
    i belive any driver is missing to load ACPI which refers to system power management.
     

Share This Page