Macbook "Penryn" 13" RAM Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by x00JuGGiE00x, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. x00JuGGiE00x, Oct 6, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2011

    x00JuGGiE00x macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I'm very sorry if there is already a thread out there.

    I've been struggling to find answers for my macbook upgrade, I own a Macbook "Penryn" 13".

    My Specs are:

    Mac OSX Version 10.5.8
    Processor: 2.1GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Memory: 2GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
    Model: A1181

    I'm afraid of my purchase for the G.Skill 4GB 200-pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2-5300) Laptop Memory for a few reasons:

    1. I am not sure that it is capable, I've surfed the internet and most do not mention this RAM piece (I might not be searching properly).

    2. Many customers buy the 2x2GB 200-pin DDR2 SO-DIMM 667 (PC2-5300), but the model is basically the same with the 4GB piece, will it still work?

    3. Will my laptop still be able to run with the default 1GB RAM piece sitting next to it?

    4. The picture of the RAM piece looks quite big, will it even fit in my macbook?

    Here is a link to the product: http://www.skycomp.com.au/item/G-SK...O-DIMM-DDR2-667--PC2-5300--Laptop-Memory.aspx

    I'm ordering from an Australian company so it will save trouble.
     
  2. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    Should work fine....

    The only problem with the Santa Rosa/Penryn models is that they will only start up with at least one PC5300 ram module in them. Some PC5300 modules seem to have the wrong speed rating and cause problems.

    Your MacBook can support 6GB (4GB + 2GB) so should be fine. Keep the original 1GB module in the MacBook and you will have 5GB. Even if the speed of the 4GB module is out it will get the "timing" from the original 1GB stick.

    If you want to check whether the 4GB stick is really PC5300 then take out the original 1GB and start up with only the 4GB stick in. If it starts up fine it really is PC5300 - if it does not start up and just "beeps" then it probably is not PC5300.

    The physical size of the module is fine - go for it.....
     
  3. x00JuGGiE00x thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Thank you for your support! I've checked my RAM piece and the specs seem to check out, high hopes for my order :D
     

Share This Page