MacBook Photoshop

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Andrew D., Apr 21, 2007.

  1. Andrew D. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    So I'm in line to get a MacBook soon (hopefully) and I just had a few questions regarding the applications it can run. I'm planning on getting a 2.0GHz MacBook and upgrading it too 2GB RAM and 120-160GB HDD.

    My question is, how well will Adobe Photoshop run on a regular MacBook compared to a MBP. I know on the MBP it will run significantly better but will Photoshop run atleast half decent on the MB?

    I like to edit images and play around with graphic designing which might require me to open up other programs or what not. Thanks for understanding my newbiness and I apologize if this question has been covered before. Thanks again!
     
  2. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #2
    The MB should be fine. A friend of mine has a MB with 1GB of RAM, and PS CS3 runs just fine for his needs (he is using it for about the same things as you would be).
     
  3. bursty macrumors 6502a

    bursty

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Why do you assume it will run better on the MBP?

    Contrary to popular delusion, additional 3-D video GPU power does little or nothing for a 2-D application like Photoshop.
     
  5. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    Yeah, it will probably run almost exactly the same on a MacBook compared to a MacBook Pro, honestly. The only advantage to a MBP is a larger screen area with which to work.
     
  6. Andrew D. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    Hmm never really knew that, thanks. So I guess it is a good thing that there really is no difference between the MB and MBP running Photoshop that is.

    I need portability so the MacBook would be my better choice.

    Another question, what if the MacBook is running Photoshop on 512MB RAM instead of 1GB or 2GB? I'm just asking this in the worst case scenario (if I can't upgrade asap).
     
  7. MalcolmJID macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #7
    The CS3 installer (I just installed yesterday) warned me that is has 1Gb RAM as a minimum requirement, but it still let me install CS3 (I only have 512Mb RAM).

    It runs quite quick even on just 512Mb RAM, but I can see it slowing down with a couple of large documents open. Aim for the 2Gb RAM as soon as you can (I'm upgrading this Friday if at all possible).
     

Share This Page