Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MsCasey99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 25, 2013
Hello,
I'm extremely new to Macs and am hoping that this is just a simple setting that needs to be adjusted ... my company has a Windows 2003 domain (domain controllers running 2003 R2 SP2). I have an older MacBook that is running version 10.6.8 of OS X. That one works like a charm ... I am able to bind it successfully to the domain, have selected the option to allow any network user to login to the system. It works. I now need to configure two MacBooks running OS X version 10.8.2. I have been able to bind it to the domain, and have selected the option to allow any network user to login, but when I reboot and the system comes up to the login screen, there's a little red dot at the end of the username field and a popup that says "Network accounts are unavailable." The dot and popup will disappear after a few seconds, but the only way to login is with a local user ID. I have the two Macs side by side and have compared settings ... they appear to be identical. Is the 10.8.2 version simply not compatible with the Windows 2003 AD? I'm stumped. I've tried unbinding and rebinding. I booted into the recovery mode and ran a repair on permissions. Still no luck. I even called Apple tech support and they said to talk to Microsoft. I figured it made more sense to start with Apple, since the older version of their software works and the newer one doesn't. Any ideas? Thank you for your help!!!

bogatyr

macrumors 65816
Mar 13, 2012
Usually it takes a while for my Macs to show the "Other" user option the first time. I just leave them for a bit until it appears after I bind them to the domain. This is OS X 10.8.2 with Server 2008 R2. Might just need to wait longer.

MsCasey99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 25, 2013