Macbook Pro 13" 2010 Graphical Glitches

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by EltonT, Apr 28, 2011.

  1. EltonT macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Looks like a bad GPU, definitely get that checked out.
     
  3. EltonT thread starter macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
  4. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #4
    I used to have the same machine, and this happened occasionally.

    I used to think it was heat related because if I used SMCfancontrol to keep the fans up and he temp down, it seemed to not happen... but after awhile it started happening again.... I could easily go in System Preferences and change the resolution to another resolution for a moment, then switch it back and everything worked fine again. if it happened every day, I'm sure I would have worried about it, but it only happened maybe once every 2 weeks or so.
     
  5. Ryy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    Please get that looked at. Definitely the gpu.

    No way it is heat induced. I play tf2 and killing floor on mine all the time and have never experienced anything like that.

    Let us know what you find out. Good luck! :)
     
  6. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #6
    Make sure your running 10.6.7 too... mine did happen a lot for while, but after a driver update, it basically went away.
     
  7. EltonT thread starter macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #7
    I am running 10.6.7, tried laptop coolers which didn't do anything.

    I booked a genius appointment this sunday hoping to get this sorted before next week..
     
  8. EltonT thread starter macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #8
    Update:

    I had my macbook pro's logic board and display replaced but the problem still persists. Would I get a brand new one if I take it back again?
     
  9. PowerGamerX macrumors 6502a

    PowerGamerX

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #9
    You could try, but I had that problem exclusively with Source games under OS X (would never happen doing anything else) and I can see you have TF2 running there. Try playing some other non-source games to try and replicate it first perhaps? Maybe also try replicating it in Windows if you can too.
     
  10. EltonT thread starter macrumors member

    EltonT

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #10
    It happens even when I'm browsing.
     
  11. SlickShoes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #11
    If its still happening then take it back to apple again, and if it persists again keep taking it back, once you have been about 3 times and they have tried a few different things, then it's time to ask calmly for a replacement.

    If they replaced the Logic Board and Display it simply shouldnt be happening still, so they must have put more faulty parts in.
     

Share This Page